Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
A good twist for those of us bored with the same old chicken marinades. Made it as written and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
WONDERFUL!! I added more mint, garlic, red pepper & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I believe that all meats should be seasoned with salt and pepper first before proceeding with the recipe (unless there is a lot of salt already in the marinade). This citrus marinade had no seasoning in it! Of course it's going to taste bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this recipe last night. my (non-chicken loving) husband said it was fabulous! The best chicken he has ever eaten. It was moist, not as citrus-ie as I would have expected, but a tiny bit sweet. I did alter the marinade a bit, as per some of the reviews. Instead of 3-C OJ, I used 1-T Orange rind and a dash of orange flavoring, and added the following; 1-T lemon rind, a dash of hot sauce, 1/4-c red wine vinegar, 1/4-c grapeseed oil, and a tsp. salt. I marinated in a baggie, flipping after about 4 hours. As these were very large breasts, I cooked in a hot cast iron skillet on one side for about 10 min, covered for about 10 min on low, then removed lid and cooked on other side for about 10 min. till juices were absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJCupcake
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I read the reviews after making the marinade and panicked but I didn't find the chicken bland at all! I only used 2 cups of orange juice, brown sugar and maple syrup instead of honey, and added a pinch of salt to the marinade and used this to make a sauce. I boiled it for about 10 minutes then added cornflour and some honey which made it sweeter as it was quite bitter with the citrus fruits. I cooked the chicken in a pan and the flavour was delicious! I wanted an extra citrus kick, but the chicken was orangey enough without it too. I served it with roasted peppers, tomatoes, carrots, red onion and new potatoes which completed the dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
My family wanted a healthy BBQ for Father's Day this year so I served this dish. The only difference I made was I added the zest of the orange, lemon, and lime, as well as the juice from the fruits. The strongest citrus flavors are in the zest. My husband grilled this and while it turned out good, a few of the breasts got "blackened" from the grilling. The few chicken breasts I have left over will be baked in the oven. I'm curious to see the difference in the grilled vs. the baked. A perfect dish for summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What about adding a mint/yogurt/lime sauce? Might just give it the added zip for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
the chicken was good, but it was missing something. it just seemed very plain. a sauce would be nice, but i can't think of any that would be a good addition. any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
not very flavorful even though i marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This surprised me. With all the flavors of the marinade, I certainly expected it to be way more flavorful. Sprinkling salt on at the table did help, but it was still pretty bland. On the positive side, I did manage to use up the last of the fresh mint I had left - and that was the main reason for choosing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States