Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
My family wanted a healthy BBQ for Father's Day this year so I served this dish. The only difference I made was I added the zest of the orange, lemon, and lime, as well as the juice from the fruits. The strongest citrus flavors are in the zest. My husband grilled this and while it turned out good, a few of the breasts got "blackened" from the grilling. The few chicken breasts I have left over will be baked in the oven. I'm curious to see the difference in the grilled vs. the baked. A perfect dish for summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
the chicken was good, but it was missing something. it just seemed very plain. a sauce would be nice, but i can't think of any that would be a good addition. any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
not very flavorful even though i marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This surprised me. With all the flavors of the marinade, I certainly expected it to be way more flavorful. Sprinkling salt on at the table did help, but it was still pretty bland. On the positive side, I did manage to use up the last of the fresh mint I had left - and that was the main reason for choosing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
A good twist for those of us bored with the same old chicken marinades. Made it as written and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
WONDERFUL!! I added more mint, garlic, red pepper & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What about adding a mint/yogurt/lime sauce? Might just give it the added zip for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I believe that all meats should be seasoned with salt and pepper first before proceeding with the recipe (unless there is a lot of salt already in the marinade). This citrus marinade had no seasoning in it! Of course it's going to taste bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Three stars as written. Not bad but not great. Reading other reviews, I agree with some: Add the Zest as well as the juice of the fruit. Add some neutral flavored oil if you wish. Add some other seasonings if you wish (cayenne works well if you like a little heat but we liked the clean taste of the citrus so that's all we added, no onion, garlic, etc.) I used a 'needler' on the meat before marinating, which helps it pick up more moisture and flavor. They are inexpensive and available at most kitchen supply sources. Salt and pepper immediately before putting on the grill over a MEDIUM-LOW flame, JUST until done, don't let it get overdone. An instant read thermometer is another good investment, not just for this recipe but for cooking all meat. For the person who thought this was a ceviche -- NO, it's not. The citrus won't 'cook' your chicken as it does fish. For those who wanted a sauce or a basting liquid or both -- boil the marinade about 10 minutes or longer and use it for a sauce; boiling destroys any bacteria. Or make a double batch of the marinade and thicken it as another reviewer suggested with either arrowroot or cornstarch. If you want it as a sauce you DO need to add the butter; the wine is optional. With modifications this could be five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I just now read the recipe, and in response to some of the reviews, of course it is bland! There's no salt! Chicken needs salt. I make a similar recipe, with about 2 tsp of salt, plus finely chopped jalapeño and cilantro, in the marinade. The citrus juices and garlic are wonderful but don't forget some salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States