Chris' Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great chili! I followed the recipe exactly and resisted the urge to add onions, peppers and chilies. Drives me crazy to read "reviews" by people who've made multiple changes to a recipe. This chili may not be what you're used to, but it's so worth trying. The flavor is so rich and smooth, I'll never use any other recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Madore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I like to start in the morning so it can sit for a few hours prior to serving. It thickens up that way. I also add chopped green bell peppers for a little something extra. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was a good chili but I wouldn't make it again. I tried it because it said it would taste like Steak n' Shake's chili but it tasted nothing like that. I followed the recipe exactly and the odd ingredients were different and a little fun to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I entered this in a chili cook-off based on reviews and I got 2 votes. Dead last place out of 20 entries. I really liked this chili personally, but what do I know? I rarely eat chili because I do not eat ground beef. I made is EXACTLY as the recipe states, except I did add a few chopped jalapeños to the finished product, because after I took it out of the fridge the next morning and tasted it, it was very mild. I personally did not mind the cost of the steak, but it would have been much cheaper to make traditional chili. The broth is very gravy-like and hearty. I would make it again for my family but I would never subject myself to enter it in another cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Easily 5 star for me. The problem with chili is that people are so opinionated and/or polarized on what is chili and how it should taste and look that scores can be so subjective than other recipes. It even becomes a macho thing in some cases to be rigid on a chili concept. I found this Chili just what I was looking for in a chili. Similar to a Steak and Shake Chili but better. The steak was what made it texturally so different. The beans were so tender and the flavor was just right. I used Coke and Texas Pete's. I did not find the dry onion soup mix so I used Campbells french onion soup and strained out those disgusting onions. I made it to the recipe except the store was out of dry soup mix. I used 10 ounces of sauce instead of the 8. Changes I may try the next time would be to find the dry onion soup mix as listed, double the Texas Pete's or use Franks red hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome chili!!! The only change I made was making my own onion soup mix because of food allergy issues. My 9 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe...I spiced it up a bit but adding the coke and cocoa really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
2nd place winner!! Wonderful recipe, Chris. Added a bit of dark beer and some of the bacon used for grease. Will be cooking this as an annual tradition. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this a few days ago, and it really is great chili. I suppose I expected it to be a little better, but it is a good recipe. I was raised in a blue collar family with a lot of kids and not a lot of money. The best my Mom could get for our chili was your standard ground beef, and I had a lot of trouble getting over that this recipe calls for steak. Perhaps I'm just set in my ways regarding the ground chuck, but I feel like ground beef is more suitable for chili. It's also pretty darn pricey to use two different kinds of steak in this recipe. I also prefer more a variety of beans in my chili. I think I'll loosely follow this recipe in the future, but I'm going to go back to ground beef and use a wider variety of beans. All in all, if you have the money and prefer steak in your chili, this is an excellent recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was very different so I followed it almost exactly...the only change was that after doing the browning of the meat stage (I made it quite brown) I cooked it in a crockpot on high for 5 hours (you probably could have gotten away with 4 but we were out). Using this method the meat did get very tender so I would say that's a good way to go if you want to use the slow cooker. The taste was very interesting and different, I would just say that we felt it was missing something...definitely some spice but maybe some acid too? I will probably add a teaspoon of adobo seasoning and maybe some Frank's red hot next time I make it. It was good on eggs leftover this morning too. I would say that it tastes better today than yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States