Chorizo, Potato and Green Chile Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet which was great because it could go from stove to oven lickety-split. I did cut back on the frozen hashbrowns just a touch only because I had just under a cup and a half left in the bag. I did not have the specific cheese that the recipe asked for--I used pepper jack. The salsa I used was homemade and I also used reduced fat sour cream. Boy, was this good--both my kids and I thought this was VERY tasty. Both my sons asked for seconds! I would like to make this again but I think I would cut back both the cheese and the sour cream for next time and see if I can't throw in some fresh chopped vegetables. As is, quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
surprisingly good! will make again. even reheated well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Instead of chorizo I would put turkey Bacon and some spinach but overall great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmbeach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for Christmas morning and it was really good. I had never had chorizo before but I wanted to try something new. I bought liquid egg whites instead of using 8 egg whites. It was good as a left over as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good! light, flavorful! I am queen of substitutions so I altered the recipe a bit. I used ham loaf instead of chorizo - that's what I had on hand. I didn't have the cheese or green chilies so I used a can of Campbell's fiesta cheese soup. I used a total of 8 whole eggs instead of the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I was really surprised by how good this was. We had to make some minor changes. We subbed 4 whole eggs for the 8 egg whites, used whatever cheese was around, and par-cooked diced potatoes since there were no hash browns in the house. Everyone (even the picky kid and picky adult) loved it. Definitely keep the chorizo- I think that's what gave it so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is great! We saved the leftovers and made breakfast burros the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettie Geese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This little gem has been in my recipe box for at least five years. After looking in my fridge at some chorizo that I needed to use up, I figured this recipe would be perfect. I halved the recipe (since it's just the two of us), I used a regular Mexican blend cheese, and chopped up jarred jalapenos instead of the canned chiles. The end result was fabulous; I have a happy tummy and M is now in a food coma, sleeping on the couch. Before closing his eyes, he said "That's a keeper." And it will be. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My husband loved this! I added bell peppers and garlic to the chorizo and onions. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States