Chorizo Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I live part of the year in Mexico and find most of All Recipe Mexican food recipes....to not resemble Mexican food at all, but this is how a chorizo breakfast burritos is made! I would only use 1/2 lb Chorizo since the flavor can be strong...Jack cheese can alsobe used, although authentic breakfast burros don't usually have cheese.... Good recipe!....it's probably the vitamin C in the chile that helps your hangover ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I followed the directions exactly, but added one additional item. I spread the flour tortillas with jalepeno flavored cream cheese. Very good breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great weekend breakfast!!! As a rule of thumb for those wanting a scrambled "eggy" burrito use 8 eggs per pound of chorizo. I prefer to use 1/2# mild and 1/2 # hot chorizo combined. Then you no longer need to cut up onion and chiles for spice. Also at the end of cooking sprinkle cheese right into pan to melt and then serve. Very authentic Mexican dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These are fabulous, me & my kids loved them... They ask for them at least three times a week. Mind u, ive only been making them dor about a month. The Chorizo meat is really expensive" but when the kids love sum'n i gotta get it. They like it with cilantro & green onions mixed with it, there gd in taco shells & the flour burrito shells... I also used extra eggs because the first time they said it wasn't enough egg. That time i used 6, but now i use 9 its fabulous!!!! I need sum'1 to give me alittle advice??? I wanna make sum in enchilada's, can anybody help me figure out what kinda sauce i should use???? I no it will be delicious too. :) ima try them today with sum enchilada green sauce. I'll let everyone no hiw it came out. ttyl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
nice and simple dish.. i was looking to kick up my normal eggs and chorizo breakfast and was looking for appropriate add in's.. also sprinkled some fresh chopped tomato into the burritos.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have to say, this one surprised me. I made it as stated and it didn't look that appealing. Was I wrong! This burrito was tasty! I took it with me to a brunch potluck and everyone loved it! I would definitely cook the eggs in the chorizo mixture. Yes, it is hard to see the egg in the final product, but otherwise you miss out on all seasoning in the chorizo. Also, corn tortillas are the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used 1/2 cup cheese and 1/2 lb cooked turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I used this recipe as a reference and went my own way. I cooked a yellow onion and garlic in the pan with the chorizo and added a chopped orange pepper, a can of Rotel, a can of seasoned black beans (drained), and chopped green chiles from a can (I have found that buying the whole chiles and chopping them yourself is REALLY easy, and has much better texture and flavor) and fresh cilantro that I had leftover. I fried eggs separately, warmed corn tortillas in the oven and served it open face topped with over easy eggs, Queso Fresco & salsa, INCREDIBLE and not that much more work. With my leftovers I cracked 4 eggs directly into the mixture and scrambled it all together in the pan, wrapped up individual burritos with cheese (in flour tortillas that keep better without cracking) and stored them in the fridge. They've been amazing reheated in the morning. Just 1 keeps me full until lunch easily. It's so nice having a quick and nutricious breakfast in the car on the way to work. 1 minute in the mircowave wrapped in a paper towel. Glorious! I hope this long read was worth it for at least 1 person :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I use Soyrizo which is much better for you and taste practically the same as it's beef or pork counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Really tasty! I added a bit of Sour Cream and fresh garden tomatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayley99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States