Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I'm gonna make this tonight. Even better if you can find Lamb Chorizo. I'm drooling as I type. The people who edited the recipe said to use bulk stuff that crumbles... but I prefer to slice chorizo and fry it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great! Easy! Kid approved!! I didn't change anything except for using sliced chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I didn't have Chorizo so I used Turkey Kielbasa and tossed in a couple of fennel seeds. This was delicious. And healthy, to boot! A genuine keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
easy and very tastey add a desert spoon of tomato puree but really good without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Wow! I'm usually pretty stingy with my stars but I would give this one a 6 if I could. So easy and SO tasty. I modified a bit by adding a thawed, drained package of frozen spinach to "up" the nutrient value and squeeze in some greens. It tasted terrific! This recipe is going in my regular rotation - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very flavourful. On the spicey side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. Made it just as it said and my family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I had some kale that I needed to use up and I wanted to use it in something that would do dinner and have leftovers for lunch. I used the advanced search on allrecipes to find this. It was great. I think I overcooked it slightly though - my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This stew is fabulous! The flavors are complimentary, and not overpowering. My local store did not have bulk chorizo, so I used a 1 lb. package of chorizo links, removed the casings, browned and sliced 'em. I may actually use 1.5 lbs. next time, just to have a little more meat. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which made the stew almost too salty, so reduced sodium broth is probably the way to go. My BF was a little turned off by the lentils, so I may even try a different bean next time, just to change it up a little (an 8 or 16 bean blend would probably be nice). All in all, a fantastic recipe that will definitely be at the top of my soup list. UPDATE: I made this again, doubled the chorizo, and used a 13 bean blend in place of just lentils. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very very good, and easy for an after-work meal. Just used italian sausage to tone down the spice a little and added some onions because, well, we put onions in everything :-) Overall a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States