Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great dish. When I read some reviews that this dish was too spicy, I was like "Are you kidding me?" But the very next day, the spices started to kick into the dish. The only subs I made were red lentils instead of green lentils. Also, after 17 minutes of simmering, my lentils were done. But that's probably due to the differences between the red and green lentils. I actually had to save the dish with a few more cups of water. One thing, is this an Indian dish or a Latin American dish? Update: This dish is spicier the next day. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Really good! I added potatoes and carrots which were a delicious addition. I also sauteed mushroom with the garlic. Love the flavors!! Instead of salt I used one beef bullion cube with the 3 cups of water and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used more liquid than called for (used chicken broth rather than water); also I added some chopped carrots and spinach. I used Portuguese chourico sausage sliced, not bulk. Very good- will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Tried it with 400 grams of chorizo salami and a little smoked bacon. I like the flavor, but it is a little salty - I guess bulk chorizo is less salty tasting than the sausage / slicing kind?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was great. I had to add a few more vegetables because I was not able to use celery. I added carrots in place of the celery. At the end I added red bell pepper and fresh spinach. We had it as a lunch meal rather than a dinner meal. Took some to work the next day (and I took some the day after that) and it worked out great. Even the 4 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Although I modified this recipe somewhat, I still want to pass along my rave review. Based on others' comments, I substituted italian sausage for the chorizo and added a bag of pre-washed spinach, a small bag of mini-carrots (too lazy to slice carrots, I guess), and a measure of coriander equal to that of the other spices. I also used canned chicken broth instead of the called-for water (something I routinely do for most soups). Good, warming wintertime soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was skeptical about putting chorizo and curry powder together, but it really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I left out the turmeric and cut the celery down to one rib. This was delicious and very filling, although my family couldn't be tempted to try it, they're not big lentil eaters. This one is going in my favorite recipes binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was really spicy. I'm out in the middle of no where and my grocery store doesn't carry Chorizo so I used italian sausage. Let's just say it was so spicy I think my soul is burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Geez, I did not like this at all...I made huge additions: carrots, diced onions,coriander,all spice, lemon juice, nutmeg, small potatoes and a can of beef broth. 3 cups of water could NOT feed 4 people. I added 5 + the broth! I must say after ALL these additions, I would give it 4***, but it just was good on its own....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States