Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was delicious. I also added carrots (for color) and ans also kale at the very end as others have suggested. My husband and I both loved it and ate it for days. I have made it twice and it was great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious, and couldn't be easier! I used linked chorizo (peeled the casing and sliced in 1/4 inch rounds), sauteed in olive oil with sliced onion, garlic, and the spices until slightly browned, then added the lentils and water. I served this to some friends yesterday, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Was really good with a dollop of sour cream smack in the middle of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Not sure. I liked this quite a bit but then I really like chorizo and I like lentils. But I'm not sure if the combination was anything special since the chorizo flavour is quite strong. I will try this a second time to see and try some other chorizo recipes to compare. Am updating this review as I made this again - I know I was ravenous but it is soooo tasty. I don't think I would make this for friends for a full dinner but its very good as a supper - a small amount is very filling - or just a smaller evening meal - with crusty bread which takes a little edge of the spicyness - yes, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was wonderful. I did use caution since I have a 3 year old. Didn't want to go overboard with the spice. Omitted the extra spices because the Chorizo itself has plenty of it.. My husband really enjoyed this.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Apart from omitting the celery (I was making it for Husband, and he doesn't like cooked celery), I made this as written, and really wasn't impressed with the flavor. I ended up adding in some sauteed onions and jalapenos, a handful of chopped fresh cilantro, and a few Tbsps of tomato paste mixed with chicken broth. It was ok - a little too salty - but nothing to really go crazy about. This was pretty healthy but not something I'd make again. Thanks ahyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is now one of my favourite stew recipes - I always add in some frozen chopped spinach, and often chop up and toss in whatever veg I have on hand that I need to use up - bet you could use kale as well, will try that next time. Works great in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My son and I think this is wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This made for spicy lentils. I like some spice, but I'm probably not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Not my favorite. It was a little too hot, without being all that flavorful, for me. ***** I have to change my rating from three stars to one. I'd been generous at first, but really, it didn't deserve all three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States