Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Ended up using Italian sausage instead of chorizo and used a pound of meat. Used about half the amount of celery and added half a diced onion. Also added 2 cut up roma tomatoes and a couple handfuls of baby greens at the end. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I did stay true to the amount of lentils and seasonings. The seasonings were perfect and I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Five star all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
It needed 5 cups of liquid. I used a combo of chicken/beef stock base. I added 2 large diced carrots, half a bunch of kale, half a large onion, diced, and decreased celery to 3 stalks. I used the seasonings listed except subbed garam masala for the curry powder and added 1 tsp of coriander, and sauteed them with the onion/garlic. Smells awesome and tastes very good. My chorizo was chicken with Mex seasoning made by my local Sprouts store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Awesome stew! Added a small onion and a little extra chorizo. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
We thought this was fantastic, as lentil soups go. And in general as far as any soup goes, this is one of my favorites. I was out of celery so I subbed 2 whole onions and 1 whole grated carrot. I added celery seed to get that flavor in there. When I make this again, I'll have the celery too, but I'll definitely keep the onions and carrot :) Thanks for the recipe, we loved the use of curry powder in this, it made these lentils sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Perfect! We do not have chorizo in Slovenia, so I used some local sausage. I also replaced curry with 1/2 t cayenne pepper and added half cup of bulgur at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larisagrujic
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was so tasty! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I added one tsp. of celery salt and chopped up carrots and onion along with the garlic. Everyone loved it, wasn't spicy~but tasty. Made it easy to please everyone, using the hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Loved it! Was very yummy and spicey, but that's b/c I added extra chile powder. I also added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
easy, spicy and chill-chasing! even better the second day!! will probably experiment a great deal with this in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I enjoyed this hearty dish. It reminded me more of a chili than stew. Since I didn't have any celery on hand I used dried celery flakes. I started with 3 cups of vegetable broth and ended up adding about 2 more cups. I'm a vegetarian so I used soy chorizo and added potatoes and kale as others suggested. I made old fashioned cornbread with a little sugar to compliment the chorizo. I would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rickay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States