Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I added black beans, spinach and used homemade beef broth. Everyone in my family loved it and it was a very hearty and filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Added chopped onion and carrot. My husband REALLY liked it (this is his rating). It was a bit too much on the spicy side for me - I would give 3 stars or dial things down a notch. Cleared out my sinuses though! It came out more like a chili than a stew, but that was fine. Served it with a big green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
An excellent dish to introduce hubby to the wonder of lentils. He loved it as did I. Have made it several more times and it is now a favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidzmom42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Didn't care for this neither did my family. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Really, really good as-is and lends itself well to improvisation if you're lacking (or want to add or substitute ingredients). I subbed beef kielbasa for the chorizo which is really hard to get where I live and it was still great. After tasting I wanted to get more creative with the spices, so I threw in a little hot paprika, ginger, coriander seed, and cardamom, then stirred in a little tomato paste that I had leftover from yesterday. I bulked it up more by throwing in some leftover garbanzo beans too, and it tastes an awful lot like channa masala, which I love. I know you could improvise as much as you wanted with the vegetables...basically whatever you like or have hanging around in the fridge would work great. This is a great "all-purpose" Indian curry starter recipe and I had a lot of fun with it. Make it, you'll enjoy it, even as written here. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This will be a keeper! I had never thought of using Chorizo in anything other than eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The only way to go is to use Basque (instead of mexican) Chorizos. They are very hard to find but Gem Meat Packing Company in Boise Idaho makes the best and most authentic Basque chorizos that can be shipped all over the country. Every Basque like me knows exactly where to get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Good recipe. I added 1 tsp of garam masala (for more spice), and 1 can of black beans. I think more liquid is definitely needed for it to be a stew - maybe about 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was good but a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Ended up using Italian sausage instead of chorizo and used a pound of meat. Used about half the amount of celery and added half a diced onion. Also added 2 cut up roma tomatoes and a couple handfuls of baby greens at the end. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. I did stay true to the amount of lentils and seasonings. The seasonings were perfect and I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States