Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very very good, and easy for an after-work meal. Just used italian sausage to tone down the spice a little and added some onions because, well, we put onions in everything :-) Overall a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This stew is fabulous! The flavors are complimentary, and not overpowering. My local store did not have bulk chorizo, so I used a 1 lb. package of chorizo links, removed the casings, browned and sliced 'em. I may actually use 1.5 lbs. next time, just to have a little more meat. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which made the stew almost too salty, so reduced sodium broth is probably the way to go. My BF was a little turned off by the lentils, so I may even try a different bean next time, just to change it up a little (an 8 or 16 bean blend would probably be nice). All in all, a fantastic recipe that will definitely be at the top of my soup list. UPDATE: I made this again, doubled the chorizo, and used a 13 bean blend in place of just lentils. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I had some kale that I needed to use up and I wanted to use it in something that would do dinner and have leftovers for lunch. I used the advanced search on allrecipes to find this. It was great. I think I overcooked it slightly though - my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. Made it just as it said and my family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very flavourful. On the spicey side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Wow! I'm usually pretty stingy with my stars but I would give this one a 6 if I could. So easy and SO tasty. I modified a bit by adding a thawed, drained package of frozen spinach to "up" the nutrient value and squeeze in some greens. It tasted terrific! This recipe is going in my regular rotation - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
easy and very tastey add a desert spoon of tomato puree but really good without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I didn't have Chorizo so I used Turkey Kielbasa and tossed in a couple of fennel seeds. This was delicious. And healthy, to boot! A genuine keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great! Easy! Kid approved!! I didn't change anything except for using sliced chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I'm gonna make this tonight. Even better if you can find Lamb Chorizo. I'm drooling as I type. The people who edited the recipe said to use bulk stuff that crumbles... but I prefer to slice chorizo and fry it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States