Chorizo and Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This dish was similar to a meal we had in a fabulous French restaurant. I added about 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs cut into bite size pieces. Great flavor and is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was very good, but seemed to be missing something. The following day I added cut up chicken to the leftovers and it seemed to give it a more well rounded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Fabulous! I soaked the lentils in water for 24 hrs and then used 3 cups of lentils. Small changes: Added 2x the amt of the 3 seasonings, and some extra garlic. I used chorizo that I had already grilled, and then cut in half circles. I made sure I used the celery leaves too, for some added flavor, and a 1/4 cup of parsley. I blended the soup with an immersion blender to make it thicker. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Cheap, nutritious, filling, and delicious. An excellent soup that I look forward to making lots this fall/winter. Not pretty colour-wise, but anyone brave enough to try it will fall in love. Has the power to make believers out of celery/lentil haters. Make sure you keep an eye on the water level, adding more if necessary. (Modifications: I had 4 or 5 new potatoes I wanted to use, so I cut lentils back to 2/3c and used 2c of water/stock to start with, adding more when it looked low. On the suggestion of other reviewers, I added a tbsp of tomato paste with the spices and a few handfuls of spinach at the very end.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I doubled the garlic, added an onion, and had to add another 2 cups of broth. I also used chicken broth instead of water. No leftovers either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is very nice, I used a little less Chorizo - 225g and next time I am going to add a coule of Red Chilli as I did not find it spicy at all. As others have suggested, adding other bits and bobs such as potato and carrots is a good idea as it is so rich. We ate with buttered granary bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHOTOBUBBLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was delicious. I also added carrots (for color) and ans also kale at the very end as others have suggested. My husband and I both loved it and ate it for days. I have made it twice and it was great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious, and couldn't be easier! I used linked chorizo (peeled the casing and sliced in 1/4 inch rounds), sauteed in olive oil with sliced onion, garlic, and the spices until slightly browned, then added the lentils and water. I served this to some friends yesterday, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Was really good with a dollop of sour cream smack in the middle of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Not sure. I liked this quite a bit but then I really like chorizo and I like lentils. But I'm not sure if the combination was anything special since the chorizo flavour is quite strong. I will try this a second time to see and try some other chorizo recipes to compare. Am updating this review as I made this again - I know I was ravenous but it is soooo tasty. I don't think I would make this for friends for a full dinner but its very good as a supper - a small amount is very filling - or just a smaller evening meal - with crusty bread which takes a little edge of the spicyness - yes, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States