Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I'd have to say this is the best chop suey! I like it better than I get in the restaurant even! I made it 1 time and have made it over and over again. I'm revisiting the site today to print out another copy because mine has been used so much it gets a little crinkled more every time. My family loves it too. The only thing I do different is make a double batch because we all love it, and 1 just doesn't seem to be quite enough for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Fixed per recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very very good! I used butter instead of shortening, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I would do different next time is to double (maybe triple) the recipe because it went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've made this for the second time today. I made 4 time the amount because the last time it was all gone in an hour. I chop everything in my food processer and used olive oil instead of shortening. My husband and his brother say it's better than Moms. YEAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I thought this was great. Definitely four stars. I used chicken broth instead of plain water and I also used frozen stir fry veggies in it as well as finely chopped garlic and added some crushed red pepper to my own plate. Very good. Very easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Very much like the chop suey you order in Chinese restaurants! I made a vegetable version that was delicious; omitted the pork, added mushrooms, bok choy and broccoli. I didn't have shortening, so I sauted the onions in about 2 Tbsp. of vegetable oil. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. Next time I might even add scallops for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Very good and simple. Tastes fresher than a can but oddly similar. Will become one of our rotating meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I didn't really like this....kind of a bland recipe. I don't think it's the recipe's fault -- just my tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I was looking for my moms chop suey recipe, and couldn't find it. I looked on here, and this is the same one! It's delicious! I did use a can of chicken soup stock along with the water though, and added more ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSMORIN81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-89 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States