Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Wow this was good, and easy to make. I can't have msg - migraines - so finding a good easy to prepare chinese recipe is not easy. I used roasted chicken - thanks Costco - instead of pork and cut the cooking time down quite a bit. I couldn't find canned bean sprouts so I used fresh. Turned out perfect The family loved it and it tasted great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was super easy and was exactly the taste I was looking for.I used beef and added sliced red peppers. Served over white rice - the family loved it. This is a recipe I will use often. Thank you very much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Loved this recipe..Of all the chop suey recipes I have tried, this by far the best one I ever made..I used left over meat in mine. I just added it after the veggies finished steaming and right before I added the cornstarch mixture..just to re-heat it..Yummers..Thanks PS.. I also used beef broth instead of plain water and omitted the salt..because I was using left over steak..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Love this recipe. It's great for my husband who is on a renal diet. I added one or more of the following, canned mushrooms, water chestnuts and/or bamboo shoots. Didn't hurt it a bit. Loved how easy and fast it is too. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is so what I remember chop suey to be, like I enjoyed as a kid. The 1st time I made it I used shortening....after that NOT! A little veggie oil will do. Wonderful w/ shrimp or chicken as well. Thanks for a great simple blast from the past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
A great Recipe! finally my Chop suey has the texture you would expect it to have a chinese resturant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garling23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Really good, just what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent and a hit with the kids. I followed the suggestions to use chicken broth instead of water and to double the recipe. It was a good recipe to cook with my 10yr old son and have him do most of the prep & cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I used cut up beef chuck steaks (cheap on sale) instead of pork, and i used a few tablespoons of wok oil instead of artery buster shortening. flavor was outstanding. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadhead75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was terrific! I made the recipe as written. I was a little nervous about using the shortening, but it really needs to be a part of the recipe. I used diced chicken instead of pork. Tastes like the chop suey my mom made when I was a kid. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States