Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Thank you for such an awesome recipe! I've used this site for 5+ years religiously and this is by far my favorite entree! Everyone loved it! It is just like what you would get at a restaurant and probably even better. The only change I made was I added water chestnuts and pea pods! Oh my! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I really love this! In place of the can of sprouts, I use a can of chow mein vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I added water chestnuts and used beef instead of pork over brown rice. I also substituted olive oil for the shortening and used less than the recommended amount to cut down on the fat and calories. I also let cook for about 10-15 minutes to get the celery softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We really loved this! I used leftover pork loin roast diced up and I did as others suggested and used 2 Tblsp. of canola oil to saute the onion and celery, along with some minced garlic and sliced baby bella mushrooms. I also used a can of fancy chinese vegetables instead of just bean sprouts and some extra water chestnuts. In the cornstarch mixture I used twice as much soy sauce plus 2 Tblsp. of molasses. It was divine and like so many others have said, "just like my mother used to make." What a treat! And, it is quick and easy. Thanks for the basic recipe. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a good basic recipe for a good way to deal with leftover meat and vegetables. You can replace the pork with any meat (but not fish) and you can use a lot of different vegetable combinations. Also, I leave out the sugar. Depending on the vegetable combination, you probably don't need it. I serve with both white rice and chow mein noodles. But if you're looking for something that will knock your socks off, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
4 stars because it was a great starting point. I used 1 Tbsp canola oil instead of all the shortening. I added 4 sliced baby portabellas, 1/2 can of sliced water chestnuts (rinsed to get rid of the can taste), 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water and simmered it a little longer. I used 2 Tbsp soy sauce with the corn starch. I put it on top of rice, topped with 1/2 cup of crunchy chow mein noodles and a drizzle of soy sauce again. Tons of sodium but oh so good. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Love this!!!! So quick,easy and delicious! Used Olive oil instead of shortening as another reviewer had mentioned they used it...I also added Bok Choy when adding the celery just for some color and it was terrific! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Pretty good. I think I would substitute broth for the cup of water if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I tried this with beef stew meat and also added a can of chinese vegetables. Was great, will definitely keep cooking this. My husband wants me to add more waterchestnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good and so simple and quick to make, every working mom should try this one. It will not yield enough for 4. It is just hubby and I and there was not a full serving left so definitely double this recipe . I did add 1 Tbls. of soy sauce and was glad I did because we were still adding at the table. I will try this with chicken and ground beef for a little variety too. Thanks DKOSKO for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States