Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I wish I could rate this more than 5, it was so delicious! However, I did make some modifications that others might want to try. Instead of plain hot water, I subbed a hot mix of stock with some white wine and a little water. I sauteed the onions along with the pork. After 5 minutes of this, I also added minced ginger and garlic and sauteed the pork for an additional minute before I added the hot stock mix. All this really deepened the flavors to unreal levels! Then, I had mushrooms, green beans, and carrots I added along with celery just to use them up and add color. Still, it was very quick easy to make and probably the most delicious Chinese dish I have ever made at home. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have made this several times & LOVE IT. The only change I make is to sear the pork in either 1-2 Tbsp. of butter or vegetable oil. And I usually double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
If you want to try this in your slow cooker... I left out the shortening and placed the pork, onion, celery, water(I subbed chix broth and left out salt), and pepper in my slow cooker on high for 1 hr. Then I cooked on low around 4 hrs. Then I added the sprouts and cornstarch paste and returned the heat to high for about 30 mins. To serve I added sriracha and cooked rice with Baked Egg Rolls (also from here) . The hubs requested I make it again. Next time I will add the celery/ onions further along the cooking process because I like them a bit crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I used a small amount of olive oil, chicken, fresh bean sprouts and added zucchini. We really enjoyed it and it will become one of my regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It was okay. It tasted kind of bland so I added hoisin sauce and chili garlic paste. I also added a bag of frozen asian vegetables and left out the bean sprouts because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Hit the spot! I love me some Chicken chop suey. Next time I make this, I want to add two cans of bean sprouts. My hubby doesn't like celery, the texture mainly, so added celery salt instead to keep the flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of the 1 cup of hot water to bring out the flavor of the chicken I used in the dish. I'ma keepin this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is just like my mom's! Everyone loves it. I used chicken broth and added diced chicken along with the pork. I also added water chestnuts. I did use chinese mixed veggies for the bean sprouts and it was really delicious....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
When I first glanced at this recipe, I thought it was too simple to be flavorful, but upon reading the reviews, I decided to give it a go. I, too, changed the water to chicken broth, added minced garlic and a smidgen of ginger; also, about a tablespoon each of white wine, oyster sauce, soy, and sesame oil. The veggies I used were all fresh: thinly sliced carrot, cabbage, celery, bean sprouts, and water chestnuts. The result? Perfectly splendid flavor! I was very pleased with this foundation to build upon. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I changed it up a bit used skirt steak not pork, and did not have Sherry so used a splash of wine vinegar, but the concept and cooking instructions were a great help. First attempt and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A little bland; i would use beef or chicken stock next time instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Norback

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States