Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
It's been a long time since I had this. My mom used to make it and this is very close to her recipe. The only changes I made are: a double batch, using brown rice (1 to 2 - rice to water - 1 hour low flame) which adds a nutty flavor and makes it healthier, instead of shortening using a 2 Tbsp of olive oil, adding an ample Tbsp of molasses, increasing the soy sauce to 2 Tbsp and reducing the water by that amount. I like using fresh organic bean sprouts and celery instead of the canned stuff. I can eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner; and then in my dreams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Mega compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
For our chinese food night, I made this Chop Suey, Sweet and sour pork and Egg Rolls. My husband not being one to like chinese type foods, loved this!!! I added water chesnuts, carrots and cabbage. This will be remade again with more pork and no waterchestnuts for the hubby. Thank you for sharing this easy and great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJsLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
good basic recipe. i used tofu instead of meat, and added zero calorie shiritake noodles. i also used chicken broth instead of just water. very simple and comforting. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I marinated my pork in "Mama Sita's BBQ Marinade" (store-bought) while I prepped everything else. As veggies I used onion, garlic, radishes, red bell pepper, green bell pepper and canned mini corn cut up. Used olive oil instead of shortening. Skipped celery, bean sprouts and hot water. Made the rest of the recipe as stated. Very tasty, I'd say almost restaurant quality. Served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I really liked this and will make it again. Used chicken & coconut oil instead of shortening for a subtle flavor. Cut salt in half. Used low sodium tamari, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this with a leftover pork tenderloin and it was very quick and easy. I doubled the soy sauce and added a can of Chinese vegetables in addition to the bean sprouts. I also subbed chicken stock for the cup of water and the 1/3 cup of water and it gave it a great flavor. I will definitely make this again and think it would also be good with chicken, beef, or even just vegetables. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I really loved it. I added baby corn, water chestnuts, and mushrooms, but kept everything else the same. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Luma Luhrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great! the whole family loved it. I used a pork roast and added a can of chinese veggies instead of the sprouts. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Sorry. Very bland. Added more soy sauce and a bit of Hoisin Sauce. Still bland. Also, not enough sauce. Had to add water and that probably contributed to the blandness. Wish I had watched how my mother-in-law used to make this. Update: I made this again and liked it much better. Didn't change anything. Maybe the pork had more flavor. Don't know. But I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States