Chop Suey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Absolutely great recipe !! everyone loved it !! took me right out of a lunch rush !! i just made a couple of changes to it by replacing the pork with shredded chicken,added bok choy, broccoli, and mushrooms.. the perfect chop suey !! :D Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Nice will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Bunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe..just like mom used to make. Loved it! Now I can have whenever I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This was really good and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PLEWIS74
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used ground beef in place of the pork and I added mushrooms. I also used fresh bean sprouts. It was very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelizel
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Making this again :) Thanks! I should add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelizel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Fantastic~ I doubled the recipe, but next time I think 3 Tablespoons of Cornstarch in a double batch will be plenty. Excellent recipe DKOSKO, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have a freezer full of frozen food- a diced celery/onion/carrot mixture, broccoli florets, and chicken breasts. Didn't know what to do and decided to find a recipe for chop suey. Random huh? I read a lot of complaints about it being bland but for me, it was perfect! Maybe because I'm big on seasoning, and I season food to my taste. I didn't have pork, so I cut up the (thawed) chicken breasts and cooked them in olive oil. The chicken was seasoned with seasoning salt, paprika, and pepper. I added my vegetables after the chicken was done and used low-sodium chicken broth as the substitute for the hot water. Added a dash of salt and pepper and even then, the mixture already tasted great. I used fresh bean sprouts instead of canned, but I'm sure that it wouldn't make a difference. Made the cornstarch mixture according to the directions, and was originally worried about the taste of the mixture. After adding it to the stirfry however...wonderful. Perfect amount of salt and sweet. (I later added red pepper flakes-- gotta have a little spicy!) It is a very simple, fast recipe and I recommend it for anyone who wants to make a restaurant-quality meal in a short time period. I think maybe using the chicken broth will help with those who said it was bland, but in the words of Chef Ramsay "Taste, taste, taste!" No recipe is perfect. Will DEFINITELY cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very Blah!! Made it twice with same result. Don't know what is missing. Second time I added baby corn/sliced water chestnuts/extra soy sauce. Still very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My 5-year old ate this up. I was a little apprehensive to make this since I have a picky child, but he all but licked the plate clean. Followed the recipe (even with the shortening), but subbed La Choy Chop Suey Vegetables in place of the bean sprouts. Will definitely try this with chicken or beef next time. Great base and I will experiment with additions next few times I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States