Chop Suey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
While this recipe had a great flavor, I'm on the fence with this. Batter was easy and simple and while it had a great flavor, from a piece I could taste. I couldn't believe how the batter soaked up the non stick spray I used to keep the cake from sticking to the pan as it cooked, totally went out the window and glued to the pan like I didn't use anything. I couldn't pry this out of the pan. No subtle way or approach worked to get a nice piece out of the pan. I looked like Lucille Ball from I Love Lucy involved in a comedy skit. By the time I tried, the cake was all over me and the countertop and it looked like a bomb exploded in my kitchen. Needless to say, a 2nd attempt was made and same thing happened, so I gave up after I had a few chuckles from my kids at my mess. There won't be a 3rd attempt but again what I could taste was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
i've been looking for a "chop suey cake" recipe for a long time... i remember an old neihbor of ours bringing a homemade cake to a bridal shower it was in the early 80's i would like to use some fruit cocktail , and some shredded coconut i have on hand..to make this for a mardi gras party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is one of the easiest cakes to make that is moist and similar to homemade carrot cake, maybe even better! It tastes just as good without cinnamon. I know because I forgot to add it. Yet, all the ladies that I served it to loved it and asked for the recipe! Here's the trick to making it, allow the baking soda to fizz before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This cake was bland and ugly.It was a waste of good ingredients. But, it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is one of the best cake recipes I've ever tried. It's simple ingredients I always have on hand and is a wonderful "go-to" dessert. Actually my 18 year old son requested this for his birthday cake! Have made it with chopped apples in place of pineapple and it was very good. It is very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was ok. Nothing special and it was pretty sticky from the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Good for a breakfast bread -- but not a true dessert feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Good & moist, the pineapple & walnut make for an interesting texture. I'll make again for a fun, different dessert to accompany an asian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
this one was bland to me. I think it needs a pinch of salt or something to balance out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This recipe is almost the same as the Swedish Nut Cake, except the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States