Cholesterol King Heart Stopper 2000 Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Wow! This is one BIG sandwich. It's actually more of a hoagie or sub depending on where you're from but one thing's for sure - it's delicious. I have to laugh as if the addition of some lettuce, tomato and other assorted "veggies" could some how make this seem "healthy". But, you have to splurge once in a while and I guess it's not called the "Heart Stopper 2000" for nothin'! There was no way we could finish this by ourselves so I sent the rest to work with my husband and he told me the guys renamed this "The Widow Maker" - LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was crazy!!! Couldn't get our mouths around it (and I used less amts. of meats and cheese called for), and we had to eat this in parts, but it was delicious! LOVED the 'garlic bread' bun. Will def make this again, but on a smaller scale, lol! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I never use that much meat on one sandwich. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Everyone loved this at the superbowl party!! Great sub, I will make these often! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I had a lot of fun making this, and was pleased with the end result. It looked like any party sub you'd buy in the store. I used a purple bell pepper because that is what was on hand, and omitted the mushrooms (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Well, this is definitely a heart stopper! The amount of cheese and meat is astronomical and delicious! I used Muenster and cheddar cheeses. I was surprised that there is no mayo or mustard but it was not needed with the butter and cheese. I made this for a group of hungry football fans and it was perfect with just chips and dip. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've made this more than once and it always turns out fantastic!!! I make french bread dough in my bread machine and then use an oblong loaf pan that makes it look like it has a braided top to bake it in. I sprayed the pan with olive oil and sprinkled it with cornmeal before putting the dough in. Looks fantastic and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
OMGosh! This was THE perfect recipe to feed a soccer team. I picked it for the 5 star rating and the hope that the contents would not make the bread soggy by the time the boys got them. I was shy about onions and peppers for teen palates, so went VERY light on them. I took squeeze mayo, mustard, and italian dressing just in case, but only 2 boys used condiments. My son said "They all LOVED 'em. It was the best team meal yet." My daughters loved the leftovers, my husband loved the last one. (by then at least 5 hrs old) I used 20 sub-sized buns, quadrupled the garlic butter, grated my own parmesan, and used good quality ingredients. (Ok, I went cheap & only used one cheese - provolone) Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I'm sorry...but the only heart stopping experience I had with this recipe is when my wallet started crying. I found it a bit on the dry side and difficult to eat because of its size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States