Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe is tasty, however it did not taste like Chole Saag to me. I substituted coconut milk for yogurt and fresh spinach for frozen which I think made it more bright and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was a great recipe to use up our extra fresh spinach from our CSA. We only had sour cream and frozen peas in the house and they worked well. We will make some sticky rice to eat with the leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was quite good. I did make some changes however, just because I have too when making a recipe that I am familiar with. First, I toasted the spices (cumin, cardamom, coriander, cloves) and then used butter (since I didn't feel like making ghee) to saute the onions and garlic in. I crushed the spices and added them to the onions, along with curry powder. I used a home made yogurt, which is more tart than what you generally find in the store. I served it with an Indian-ish rice I tossed together. So I really liked this, but agree that it would have been better with fresh spinach, but I didn't have any on hand. I think that adding coconut milk to this (as another reviewer suggested) would be a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is an outstanding Indian recipe that I will be making very often. I served this with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolots
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Good, healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great saag! I did have to cook it a lot longer than the recipe said, as it ended up having more liquid than my family is used to. After cooking it down, however, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe has just the right combo of veggies and spices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow! This was really delicious!!! I subbed heavy cream for the yogurt just because I had some that I needed to use up. I added the broth, spinach and peas to the onions and used a hand blender to blend about half of the mixture. Then I added the chickpeas and cream. Next time I'll use yogurt. My South Indian husband LOVED the dish! I usually prefer my veggies raw; never in a million years would I have thought I would love a dish with cooked spinach and peas but this recipe was really really good. I think I even like it better than Saag Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used vegetable broth and tofrutti supreme instead of yogurt to "veganize" it, and it turned out great! The taste was exactly the same as my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I at least doubled this recipe a month or so ago and froze some of it. The night I made this, I didn't really like it. HOWEVER, the leftovers were out of this world! The only thing I did differently is I added a little lemon at the end, and toasted my spices. It smells phenomenal and I will be making this again tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States