Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe was good. I would make it again, however I think it needed some changes. For example another reviewer said to use fresh spinach and I really think that's essential. Also, it could have used curry paste as well as the powder. I felt the recipe made a lot, way more than the number it was intended to serve. I froze the leftovers for my boyfriend to eat when I'm out of town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great! Made exactly as the recipe said. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have been searching for a recipe for this that was just right for at least 3 years. This is just perfect. It's nice with some lemon juice and cashews on top, too. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I at least doubled this recipe a month or so ago and froze some of it. The night I made this, I didn't really like it. HOWEVER, the leftovers were out of this world! The only thing I did differently is I added a little lemon at the end, and toasted my spices. It smells phenomenal and I will be making this again tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used vegetable broth and tofrutti supreme instead of yogurt to "veganize" it, and it turned out great! The taste was exactly the same as my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow! This was really delicious!!! I subbed heavy cream for the yogurt just because I had some that I needed to use up. I added the broth, spinach and peas to the onions and used a hand blender to blend about half of the mixture. Then I added the chickpeas and cream. Next time I'll use yogurt. My South Indian husband LOVED the dish! I usually prefer my veggies raw; never in a million years would I have thought I would love a dish with cooked spinach and peas but this recipe was really really good. I think I even like it better than Saag Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe has just the right combo of veggies and spices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great saag! I did have to cook it a lot longer than the recipe said, as it ended up having more liquid than my family is used to. After cooking it down, however, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolots
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Good, healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is an outstanding Indian recipe that I will be making very often. I served this with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States