Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutely divine! I added chunks of chicken thighs to the onion and sauteed, 2-5 oz. containers of plain Greek yogurt, garam masala as per earlier recs, and frozen peas since they were on hand. The real killer was adding raisins, which set off the flavors nicely with a wonderful contrast. Next time I'll add cashews too, for the ultimate in Indian flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love curry and this was amazing! I ended up using fresh spinach because that was what I had on hand and it worked well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mms09
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This was the first time I have ever made any saag dish, so I didn't know if the watery consistency was intended. After having read a couple of reviews that recommended coconut milk instead of yogurt, I decided to go half and half. The outcome was delicious! I also added a some more pepper flakes and used freshly chopped spinach. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was so easy to make and really yummy. I used fresh spinach, vegetarian stock, and a little ginger. Omitted the peas. I should have waited to the add the yogurt until the end so it wouldn't curdle as much. I also threw in some soy sauce and some sriracha instead of red pepper flakes. We ate it over yesterday's leftover brown rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great dish!! The only think I added that it did not call for was a 1/2 tsp (give or take) of garam masala. Also, I only used 5 oz of fat free greek yogurt. Fabulous dish to make for an Indian themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I originally gave this 4 stars because it wasn't quite the saag recipe I was looking for. But now that it's become a staple in our household, I think I ought to revise my rating! We love this. I measure the spices generously, use fresh spinach, and add a bit more spinach than is actually called for, but other than that, the recipe hasn't evolved much in the months that we've been making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was decent if you followed directions exactly, but it needs to be cooked longer than "heated through". Per another recipe on this site, the next day I heated up a little additional butter and added more garlic and 2 teaspoons of red curry powder- then added the previously cooked saag. I added a cup of chicken stock and cooked for a long time (?- 1 hour?) and at the end added about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. THIS I could eat every day- it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very delicious. Easy way to make an indian inspired dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious. Better the next day. Didn't last a third day. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was OK. Tasted better the second day, but even then and even with me adding a little extra seasoning and some paneer, it still tasted rather bland. I think the chickpeas detract from the dish both in texture and flavor, and if I play around with this dish and make it again, I'll leave those out. EDIT: On the third day, it actually tasted better still. I think the key to this one is letting it sit for at least one day (this is like a lot of soups: they always taste better the next day) and making sure you add enough but not too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States