Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I used fresh spinach and halved the red pepper flakes. I also used mushroom broth instead of chicken broth. Tastes great over rice! Next time - I will puree in the blender and serve as a soup with a drizzle of cream on top, with a side of Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Oh, my gosh, this was fantastic. We simmered a chicken breast cut into chunks in garlic, salt and pepper and olive oil in a separate pan until really tender and threw that in at the very end. What a great meal..we ate with some store bought naan. PRIMO!! We followed the suggestion and used fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe was good. I would make it again, however I think it needed some changes. For example another reviewer said to use fresh spinach and I really think that's essential. Also, it could have used curry paste as well as the powder. I felt the recipe made a lot, way more than the number it was intended to serve. I froze the leftovers for my boyfriend to eat when I'm out of town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great! Made exactly as the recipe said. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have been searching for a recipe for this that was just right for at least 3 years. This is just perfect. It's nice with some lemon juice and cashews on top, too. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I at least doubled this recipe a month or so ago and froze some of it. The night I made this, I didn't really like it. HOWEVER, the leftovers were out of this world! The only thing I did differently is I added a little lemon at the end, and toasted my spices. It smells phenomenal and I will be making this again tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used vegetable broth and tofrutti supreme instead of yogurt to "veganize" it, and it turned out great! The taste was exactly the same as my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow! This was really delicious!!! I subbed heavy cream for the yogurt just because I had some that I needed to use up. I added the broth, spinach and peas to the onions and used a hand blender to blend about half of the mixture. Then I added the chickpeas and cream. Next time I'll use yogurt. My South Indian husband LOVED the dish! I usually prefer my veggies raw; never in a million years would I have thought I would love a dish with cooked spinach and peas but this recipe was really really good. I think I even like it better than Saag Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe has just the right combo of veggies and spices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great saag! I did have to cook it a lot longer than the recipe said, as it ended up having more liquid than my family is used to. After cooking it down, however, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States