Chole Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Amazing Recipe! One alteration I made was to replace the vegetable oil with olive oil, and combining that oil with the garlic, red pepper flakes, cumin, and curry in a Tupperware container, then shaking the chickpeas in the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for 3 days prior to making. This allowed the chickpeas to absorb all the spices and taste incredible! For the final product I replaced peas with chopped green bell pepper and sauteed it with the onion, then added the chick pea mixture and served it over some thin spaghetti. It is always amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swim-bike-run-cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I was looking for a chick pea recipe and found this. The chick peas I had were cooked, dried chick peas (not canned), and I didn't have canned sweet peas, so I microwaved frozen peas. I also substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth, added some extra water, and cooked longer than the recipe called for (based on one review I read and the fact that I wanted to put my daughter to bed before dinner). The result was delicious! For those who couldn't guess based on the amount of red pepper flakes called for, this is fairly spicy. My husband and I ate it plain, but others might want to serve it over basmati rice or with naan (as a number of reviewers recommend) or, for those who really don't like spicy food, reduce the amount of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I followed the comments and added a can of tomatoes, I also doubled the spices and I thought it was well seasoned. I used half dried chickpeas and 1 350 g can of chickpeas (not sure if it was 15 ounces or not). Really good and really cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I can't believe how good this was! I followed the recipe exactly - it was super simple to make. Served over white jasmine rice it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was so excited for this dish based on the positive reviews, but was very disappointed. There was a good amount of heat in the dish (I doubled the red pepper and cumin), but it lacked any other flavors. Even my husband, who will eat anything, declined to touch the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I've made this once so far. It's definitely something I want to make again, but with some changes. Instead of using curry powder, I toasted ground coriander, cumin, and ground red pepper (cayenne) all to my own tastes. I substituted vegetable for the chicken broth. For the directions, I sauteed the onion and garlic first (added ginger as well) then added my toasted spices. Followed the recipe as is after that point. Next time I plan on cooking my own spinach instead of using the frozen and pureeing that together with the peas and yogurt for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe was really good as-is, however, my husband prefers it to be more spinachy. Because of this, I added one more package of spinach, some more spices, and a couple of spoonfuls more yogurt. It was great as-is but just didn't have as much spinach as I am accustomed to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Good but I added cayenne pepper and that made it way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutely divine! I added chunks of chicken thighs to the onion and sauteed, 2-5 oz. containers of plain Greek yogurt, garam masala as per earlier recs, and frozen peas since they were on hand. The real killer was adding raisins, which set off the flavors nicely with a wonderful contrast. Next time I'll add cashews too, for the ultimate in Indian flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love curry and this was amazing! I ended up using fresh spinach because that was what I had on hand and it worked well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States