Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
The best Cholay/Chana Masala recipie... as long as a couple of adjustments are made. 1. One can of chickpeas per batch 2. Use a strong robust black tea (Find a local Indian store and ask the clerk what their best tea is. For me it was Red Label orange pekoe) 3. Use a good amount of tea (about 1/8 cup per batch) 4. Don't split the beans in half, just dump the whole can in your tea-water 5. Boil down the tea water to about half, and throw everything else into this pot. (it helps to start the tea-water/chickpea process in a medium-large saucepan) One interesting variation is to add about 1/2c plain yogurt towards the end, this will add a little tangy, and give you more gravy to mix with your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I used canned chickpeas to make this and the recipe is fast and easy. My whole family loves this recipe included my 2 year old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
DELICIOUS & nutritious dinner time favourite! Not too complicated, and excellent flavour. I served it this time with plain couscous and "Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer" from this site. Even better the next day, served alone with whole wheat pita! BIG hit with both my husband & I, and will become a regular for us vegetarians. One comment -- it's pretty salty, so no need to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was wonderful....I did not use more than one pot to make it all. I boiled my chickpeas for a few minutes rather than just heating them up, and I also didn't reserve any. Served over basmati rice. I will make this again and again. Thanks for the post Shammi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really good! I didn't have the garam masala, and I think it would have been even better with that. I did not use the tea bag (we don't drink tea), and my husband wanted some chicken in his--otherwise we followed the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I really really really really really liked this. I plan to make it again, over and over. Served over rice! Mmm. I also added more curry powder and the other spices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was positively delicious. It tasted like I bought it from a good Indian restaurant. I served it over Basmati rice and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Good. I added curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
awsome flavour. i had to add more garam masala but it ended up tasting just like at a restaurant. definitely will do this again...and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States