Cholay (Curried Chickpeas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I am a little confused as to the reviews that said this dish was flavorless. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written and was delivered a wonderful chickpea dish that I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It came out really flavourful and delicious! I was actually surprised at how good it came out. It really had authentic flavour and a bit of heat. The only thing I might change is that I would just cook all the Chickpeas in one go instead of separating them. I didn't understand the need to do it this way and the peas that didn't cook as long were "crunchier" than the others and i rather them being softer. But, all in all, I would definitely cook this again. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Compared to other Indian recipes I've made, this one didn't seem like it had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We were very disappointed with this one. I really shouldn't give this any stars since we couldn't even finish our plates and had to throw out the leftovers. Couldn't find a way to salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I really liked this recipe and I also liked the suggestions for change. I used the can of tomato paste added toward the end, as suggested by one person and about a half a cup of plain yogurt, suggested by another, and I only used one can of garbanzo beans It really bulked up what looked at first to be a small meal. One thing I would say: if you do choose to bulk it up this way, I would add the two cans of garbanzos as one can is not enough for the bulked up version. Thank you for a tasty recipe and all the helpful suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Bland and prep intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
awsome flavour. i had to add more garam masala but it ended up tasting just like at a restaurant. definitely will do this again...and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used a can of stewed tomatos and some tomato paste instead of the fresh tomatos. I also added a bag of frozen onions and peppers. I thought this recipe was pretty good and very easy/economical. I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is my go-to recipe for a quick veggie curry. I usually up the spices quite a bit, or sometimes I just use a small can of chickpeas and the same amount of spices and sauce. Really delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Good. I added curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States