Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Ani, God Bless you for sharing this coveted recipe! I lost my grandmother's recipe for choereg :( No doubt I was thrilled to find this, which turned out as good as I remember grandma's. I had to use about 8 cups of flour for this recipe, and instead of the butter/margarine combo, I used all butter and the result was superb! Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe was wonderful and easy to follow. I used all butter instead of half butter and half margarine. My husband requested I make this as his grandmother is Armenian and many of his Aunts make it in smaller loaves than this recipe calls for to hold their boiled eggs in on the Easter table. As he requested it a bit late I did an online search and found this. My husband said it tasted just like he remembered. As the recipe says, DO NOT omit the Mahleb! It may be hard to find but it does make the recipe perfect. Also, using the same braiding technique mentioned on smaller sections of dough and connecting the ends to form a small circle produces a lovely "egg cup." when you do this the same cooking time applies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Thank you bunches for sharing your mother's recipe. I'm sure she won't be upset once she learns that it has received so many stars ; ) WHERE TO PURCHASE MAHLEB: you can purchase it on-line by going to The Spice House. (Ani is registered with them.) TIPS by D McM from Toronto: Use mahleb in similar quantity to how you use nutmeg in any bread or pastry recipe. Mahleb does wonders when added to the dough of shortbread, pound cake, pie crusts and waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
You can replace the mahleb with 2 tbsp. freshly ground orange peel and decorate the top after brushing with egg with whole almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Ani's mother would probabably kill her for divulging the formula... my grandmother never wrote them out! This is a great recipe. Only problem was the dough was too soupy, I had to add about 1 to 2 cups of flour (to the halved recipe) Norm Grandparents were the Azadians, Syracuse, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Youngstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Added about 2 extra cups of flour, otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have not made this particular recipe. However, I spent an entire weekend trying to duplicate my grandmother's recipe which of course was not written down. I found several recipes...this one being close if not dead on to the base recipe that I used. (Some from the internet, one from the St. James Armenian Church recipe book (Richmond, VA). After a couple of close encounters, I remembered that my grandmother used evaporated milk. When I substituted evaporated milk for whole milk, it tasted identical to my grandmother's. My grandmother would put M&M's, colored sugar, and gummy candies on top of the bread (likely for us!). We loved the way that it smelled in the kitchen. She made it at Christmas as well as Easter. Oh, how I miss her cooking--both the smell and taste of it! These also make WONDERFUL dinner rolls that your guests will love. So, don't relegate them to the holidays! Thanks you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Oh this bread was delicious! I found mahleb at Amazon.com believe it or not. I halved the recipe and used all butter (never ever margarine at my house) and got two large, tender braids. I liked it best fresh from the oven, but DH enjoyed it lightly toasted with honey butter. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I've had my eye on this recipe for a couple of years now, and finally got around to making it. The flavor is great—I'd never baked with mahleb before. I didn't like working with the dough, though. I found it to be greasy and sticky, almost like braiding cookie dough. I think that the next time I make this recipe (and I do plan to make it again) I'll try bread flour instead of all-purpose and use the method for mixing brioche: letting the dough mix and the gluten structure form before adding room temperature butter, a tablespoon or so at a time, until fully incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Most excellent. Not too hard to make. I make 6 loaves not five. Hardest part is remembering how to braid! Really flavorful. Really good! Use less bread flour or the max normal flour. Forget the margarine, use all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgregb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States