Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Being of Armenian descent I've had my fair share of Choereg, and I must say, this is truly a wonderful recipe. My mother too would kill me because she gave me her recipe last year (which I lost and couldn't bring myself to tell her) so I found this one, I tried it and EVERYONE was so pleased with the outcome, including my mother who thought it was her recipe! Oh well, at the end of the day it's about yummy food right?! This will just have to be my little secret. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancerjax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have not made this particular recipe. However, I spent an entire weekend trying to duplicate my grandmother's recipe which of course was not written down. I found several recipes...this one being close if not dead on to the base recipe that I used. (Some from the internet, one from the St. James Armenian Church recipe book (Richmond, VA). After a couple of close encounters, I remembered that my grandmother used evaporated milk. When I substituted evaporated milk for whole milk, it tasted identical to my grandmother's. My grandmother would put M&M's, colored sugar, and gummy candies on top of the bread (likely for us!). We loved the way that it smelled in the kitchen. She made it at Christmas as well as Easter. Oh, how I miss her cooking--both the smell and taste of it! These also make WONDERFUL dinner rolls that your guests will love. So, don't relegate them to the holidays! Thanks you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
You can replace the mahleb with 2 tbsp. freshly ground orange peel and decorate the top after brushing with egg with whole almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is the BEST. Thank you.ASTVATS ORHNI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Thank you for the perfect explanation of this delicious Çörek (this is how we spell it in Turkish but I bet the pronunciation is same). It used to be something we get when we used to visit our Armenian friends in Istanbul in Easter times. Now I live in Ankara and do visit them occasionally but catching the easter delicacies is like winning the lottery. Thank you for the recipe... I'll try it as sson as I go and get Mahleb from the spice store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anatolia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Thank you for posting the beautiful pic--it sure came in handy for my daughter's ancestor project. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I couldn't find mahleb, so I used cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely and so soft and yummy. However, you do need to devote an afternoon to making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HULAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This choereg is so delicate it just melts in your mouth. Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the recipe Ani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Wonderfully, awesome, spectacular bread. I Made this bread around easter, but i did not have any mahleb, mostly because in north mississippi there is no one who carries it. it came out great. i made some more yesterday and substituted caraway seeds for the mahleb and it was wonderful too. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States