Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by barbara1234
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Seriously delicious. My family loves this bread. Yes, does need about 1.5 cups more flour. Otherwise perfectly worth the search for Mahleb.you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow this bread tastes so rich and buttery, i have made hefezopf for years and years which is a German variation and is a braided yeast bread, This recipe was no more difficult to make and the result is truly delicious. I will probably switch to this Armenian variation going forward for its rich texture and buttery flavor. I made this hoping to surprise my husband when he comes home from work as he is Armenian and his grandmother and mom make this too. Thank Ani for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am Armenian and I approve of this recipe! My only changes: used all butter, no margarine. And I prefer a slightly sweeter bread so added another 1/3 cup of sugar. As far as shaping them, I make my aunties shapes..pinwheels, and twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible Bread that may be enjoyed as is, or as a delicious sandwich, filled with your favorite savory meats. Slightly crunchy crust, structured, yet fluffy textured crumb with subtle sweetness that's addicting. I added diced candied citrus peels to the dough and sliced almonds on top prior to baking on the stone. Fantastic presntation for a festive celebration... Thanks Ani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
All you need is one more person telling you that more flour was needed! But, I halved the recipe and still added 2-1/2 cups of extra flour. However, I didn't have the "required" spices, but read somewhere on a spice website that I might want to try anise, nutmeg and cinnamon; so I did - and it was superb! Only 1/2 tsp. of each for half the recipe, and barely detectable when eating the bread... but I think it enhanced the sweetness of the bread. I also used all butter in the recipe. I shaped the dough, brushed with egg and sprinkled with sesame seeds prior to letting it rise - proofing it on the oven proofing setting for 45-60 minutes, then just turned the oven on to 350 and baked it for about 20 minutes. Everyone was quite impressed, and out of 18 people - some who took a few slices home with them for leftovers - there were only 6 slices left for our family. We devoured it at the next meal. This is a wonderful - quick and easy, actually - recipe that I'm sure I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SilentStarlight
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thanks for sharing this recipe! My family enjoyed it. Don't skip the mahleb. I halved this recipe and it made two big loaves. I had to add about 1.75 additional cups of flour to get it to be a workable dough. It was much too wet without adding the extra flour. I also used all butter instead of margarine, and I used skim milk instead of whole. The bread turned out fine. Maybe I'll even add a bit more mahleb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is delicious but using salted butter a bit more sugar and orange peel rather than the mahleb makes for a much more delicious treat... at least that is how my Armenian Great Grandmother made it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thanks for sharing your recipe -- it's perfect, just how my mom and yaya made it. I don't use margarine, so mine was all butter. I also leave out the milk, butter, and eggs several hours ahead of time so they come to room temperature, as my yaya suggested. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Can't wait to make it again this Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Most excellent. Not too hard to make. I make 6 loaves not five. Hardest part is remembering how to braid! Really flavorful. Really good! Use less bread flour or the max normal flour. Forget the margarine, use all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgregb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
amazing! this was my first yeast bread.. and I was in absolute awe as to how well it turned out! absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States