Choereg (Armenian Easter Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SilentStarlight
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thanks for sharing this recipe! My family enjoyed it. Don't skip the mahleb. I halved this recipe and it made two big loaves. I had to add about 1.75 additional cups of flour to get it to be a workable dough. It was much too wet without adding the extra flour. I also used all butter instead of margarine, and I used skim milk instead of whole. The bread turned out fine. Maybe I'll even add a bit more mahleb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is delicious but using salted butter a bit more sugar and orange peel rather than the mahleb makes for a much more delicious treat... at least that is how my Armenian Great Grandmother made it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thanks for sharing your recipe -- it's perfect, just how my mom and yaya made it. I don't use margarine, so mine was all butter. I also leave out the milk, butter, and eggs several hours ahead of time so they come to room temperature, as my yaya suggested. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Can't wait to make it again this Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Most excellent. Not too hard to make. I make 6 loaves not five. Hardest part is remembering how to braid! Really flavorful. Really good! Use less bread flour or the max normal flour. Forget the margarine, use all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgregb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
amazing! this was my first yeast bread.. and I was in absolute awe as to how well it turned out! absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Ok, I hate to say it, but this recipe is BETTER than the armenian cook book (cooking bible for armenians!)! Being 100% Armenian, I have cooked traditional Armenian food for years. I cant believe I found a recipe so very yummy! I did not have mahleb, so I used anise seed (sparingly since my family is not fond of the taste) This got RAVE reviews from family and friends. Beautiful presentation as well. MAKE IT!! ITS YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sodus, New York, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Growing up traditional cooking wasn't my mothers thing, so every holiday I try recipes which I think create family time and bring some of the older traditions back. This sweet bread was amazing.Really great instructions to follow, (since this is my 2nd yeast bread EVER)simple and precise. The family loved it and want it made not just at Easter. Doubled the "wow this is great" by having spreadable honey butter to go with. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this as part of my Easter brunch and it was amazing! I had to travel a ways to buy whole mahleb, and then grind it with a mortar and pestle, but it was so worth the work. It may sound strange, but I loved kneading this dough! It was so soft and flexible. My guests loved it, and I still have 2 loaves to myself! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
When it comes to baking my cooking skills drop considerably so I may have done something wrong. I had to add almost 3 cups of flour because the dough was not a dough but the consistency of thin oatmeal you would have for breakfast. It was about right then but of course it was a little heavy then. I have not tasted it yet but I bet it will taste ok but it will not be lite and/or fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kic106
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Be sure to grab some fresh out of the oven! I actually ran out of all-purpose flour, so I used mostly bread flour, but it still came out delicious. I also used all butter. Mahleb was ordered from the Spice House online. My brother is living in Armenia and can't be home for Easter, so making this bread brings him a little closer to home. Thank you for sharing, Ani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States