Chocolaty Caramel-Nut Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is great! I doubled the whole recipe (except the butter- I only used 1/2 cup) and thought that the amount of caramel/chocolate/nuts called for was perfect; all the kernels were covered pretty well. Based on other recipes, one cup of popcorn= one serving, so I used 8 cups of stove-popped popcorn and used the same stockpot to make and mix everything. I think it would have helped if I had kept the popcorn warm in the oven before mixing it- by the time I got to the chocolate and peanuts, the caramel was sticking. I baked in two deep aluminum roasting pans. This made FAR more than eight servings, more like 16!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharissaH
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I followed this recipe fairly strictly, except I used 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) rather than 2 sticks. I ran out of brown sugar so I used about 1/2 cup brown sugar , 1/2 cup regular white sugar, and it seemed to be no different. Go sparingly on the chocolate chips---I "eyeballed" it and ended up making the popcorn a little bit too chocolatey, and overcoming some of the caramel taste. Also, my popcorn started to burn after 45 minutes, so I didn't bake it the full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
An addicting, delicious recipe. I made it using 1 cup of popcorn seeds that I microwave-popped. Hint: REMOVE UNPOPPED KERNELS! Keep the roasting pan in the oven while melting the caramel sauce, then take it out and add the popped corn and sauce, this makes it easier to coat the popcorn evenly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe is so so Good .I remember tasting this at a farmer market.And i said i have to find a similar recipe to this Thanks to you i can have to delicious sweet craving treat all the time.I just added pecans to this as well.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This popcorn tastes fine, but the chocolate chips do not melt (they scorch instead). I would follow the recipe as is next time, but would melt and drizzle the chocolate at the end. I only baked for 30 minutes because of the chocolate scorching. I've used another caramel/chocolate popcorn recipe from this site, and I think I prefer it with the addition of the almonds and coconut. Updated to add: I took the leftovers to work and my coworkers devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great recipe. I followed exactly, but would do as another review and double the caramel. The popcorn was not as well coated as I would like. Will try again as it had a great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have to constantly stir it because it didn't stick to the pan. I used whole almonds for a nuttier crunch and it was great! I had one problem--the nuts and chocolate didn't stick so well. I must have got so excited about stirring the caramel evenly into the popcorn I was letting it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Out of this World Yummy! BEWARE! You won't be able to stop eating them once you start. LOL -I altered the recipe and used peanuts instead of almonds. I used plain kernals in the microwave in a paper bag instead of microwave popcorn and made two large bowls of popcorn. I doubled the recipe for the carmel mixture and added more nuts and chocolate. My party guests ate the whole thing. I may make it again this holiday for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was realy easy to make and it tastes great. Be sure to have a HUGE bowl to mix the popcorn in. I used a wok and it was still too small. The chocolate didn't melt like I thought it would so I'm not sure what to do about that. I used 1 cup popcorn kernals and made my popcorn on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Cavender

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I popped my popcorn on the stove and omitted the almonds and coconut. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States