Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Made just a few minor changes - I cut the oil to 3/4 cup and doubled the cinnamon because I didn't have cardamom. Very good. This is the second time I've made these and I have a request for more. Tasty way to use up some of that zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. The muffins were moist and tasty. I could not really taste the spices... would not have known spices were in it, if I were not the one who made them. Also didn't really taste the zucchini. I might try doubling the spices next time and maybe using walnut oil for the oil. Another tasty addition might be a little dry instant expresso/ coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruminantia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
These are very tasty. I used half the sugar and added some ground flax seed and a little almond meal to make up some of the difference in solid ingredients. I also used a melted stick of 50/50 butter/ canola oil in place of the oil to reduce calories. I used whole wheat pastry flour for added fiber. And finally, I doubled the spices, and it could have used even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
We made these last night with our Zucchini from our garden and they were yummy. We did a double batch and used wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour. Double batch made 24 muffins and two loaves. We are taking the muffins to an event tonight so we sprinkled some chocolate chips on the top of the muffins and they came out really cute. And I didn't have ground cloves or cardamon on hand, but I had pumpkin spice which had those in it plus nutmeg and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Yum! What a great way to get veggies into my kids! Just tweaked it a little to try & make it a bit more healthy: 1-1/2c. whole wheat flour, 1-1/2 c. white, applesauce instead of oil. Also 1c. white, 1 c. brown sugar, 1/2 c. cocoa powder, & doubled the spices. Delish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I loved these! I made them today. I used organic coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to make them a little more healthier. I also did not have cardamom and did like someone else did, and doubled up on the cinnamon. I also doubled up on the other spices - sort of by accident! They were delicious. I will make these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I didn't tell my children there was zucchini in them. After having a muffin they told me that it was "The Best" muffin I had ever made for them. And "when was I making them again?" It is now in my rotation. I did reduce the sugar and oil by half and added a cup of regular applesauce (sweetened) and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips. May try to add a banana next time just to play with different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty! I did not have cardamom so just left that out. I had closer to 3 cups of zucchini so I added an extra cup of flour but left everything else the same. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Davis
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my 1st time using zucchini, and while I spent the whole time asking myself if I was doing it right..(was it ripe yet, how big should the grate be, do I press out the juice or keep it.., oh there's seeds inside) once that joy was over I got to the fun part. I made two subs cuz I couldn't wait to go to the store. I used 1/2cp olive oil, 1/2 cp applesauce. I don't own cardamom/cloves, so I upped the cinnamon/nutmeg and added a bit of ginger. I knew these would be eaten around breakfast time so I opted to cut sugar down a bit: 3/4cp white sugar & 1/2cp brown sugar. I threw in some mini choc. chips & sprinkled a few on top. A few had mentioned dryness being an issue or not enough cocoa flavor so I used dutch process cocoa but same qty as recipe called for. The added mini chips (very little bit) added to the flavor. These were flavorful, very moist and chocolatey. Can't wait to make them again. Shared with neighbor across hall who gave me the zucchini. She came over an hour later with Paula Dean's zucchini bread! I'm in carb heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Oh my goodness....... These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster115

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States