Chocolate Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I thought these were great. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and I used half "pear" sauce (same as applesauce except I made it from pears) and half oil. Next time I will try to use even more of the whole wheat and more of the apple/pear sauce to see if I can't get it healthier. Definately a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Pretty tasty! My two year old ate 3 in one sitting :) Here's the changes I recommend: applesauce instead of oil, molasses instead of sugar, and 1/2 cup flax meal substituted for 1/2 cup flour. I dropped chocolate chips on top and baked around 30 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Followed recipe as written except I put chocolate chips in the 2nd batch of 12 muffins. I found all the muffins rather dry with not a lot of flavor. I didn't like adding a whole cup of oil but did it anyway. I thought about not making these again but I think I will try one more time substituting apple sauce for part of the oil and heaping the amounts of the spices to get more flavor. Maybe adding choc. chips again. If after that they aren't good, then I will definitely move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Moist. Nice flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I added two cups of carrots, subbed the oil out for butter, added slightly less than 2 cups of sugar, and half of the flour is whole wheat. I think I will add 1/2 cup of yogurt next time because maybe the carrots took some moisture out. Oh and I added five dark chocolate chips to each one. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My rating is based on the recipe itself and not with substitutions, which then would give it a 4/5, I think. These were really good after I followed many other reviewers' suggestions. I doubled the spices and cocoa, and doubled the baking powder/soda as well. Even so, the muffins are fairly dense, don't rise much, and the batter really could use a little thinning out. I was tempted to add a little milk, but didn't. Maybe next time. The flavour with the spices doubled is excellent. I might add even another cup of zucchini next time. I also used half white and half brown sugar. And for those that think a cup of oil is a lot, don't forget the recipe is for 24 muffins, and that really is a negligible amount *per muffin.* Because I was nearly out, I used half vegetable oil, and half light olive oil. I am not sure if this mix would differ from one cup of veg, but I found the muffins quite dry even with a cup of oil. As I expected, storing them in an airtight container and letting them mellow together did help moisten them up somewhat. Good base recipe, just needed some tweaking to up the rating. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My kids could not even tell there was any zucchini in them! Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefertari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Husband took these to work every day. Priest also loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made a double batch with only 3 cups sugar instead of 4,added chopped walnuts and used whole wheat flour and I also added semisweet and milk chocolate chips to the top before baking. These were awesome, not too sweet, moist and had a wonderful spicey flavor!!! Shared with neighbors and friends, next time I will freeze some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My toddler loves them! I used 2/3 whole wheat pastry flour and could have gotten away with all. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States