Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was wonderful! I kept it the same, as I don't like to alter recipes (unless I don't have ingredient), and my daughter (very picky and doesn't like veggies), has been eating them like nothing! I did change frosting, using canned white frosting though. Made second batch as I needed more, using semi-sweet chocolate since out and no nuts, and came out a lighter brown color. Liked these much better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XONORA5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RY
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I am a huge fan of zucchini desserts so I was super excited to try this one!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except (like others) I used 1/2 cup oil & 3/4 cup apple sauce and a splash of vanilla. Turned out really yummy and moist! Everyone in the house was skeptical when I told them there was zucchini in the recipe, but after they ate 'em they were hooked. I used a cheese grater to grate the zucchini (came out in matchstick size) and you really can't taste it at all (if that matters).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but this came out with a very bitter, unpleasantly strong zucchini taste. My only theories are that I grated the zucchini too coarsely (used the grating attachment on a food processor-- so the pieces were roughly the size of matchsticks) or that the zucchini was too old. I'll try grating it more finely next time, but for now, I'm not all that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Excellent Recipe! You can't even taste the zucchini in them...and we put about an extra 1/2C in it! We cut out 1/2 of the oil as well because we added more zucchini, and of course, added 2 more squares of baking chocolate as did many other readers. Will Definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Fabulous! I made several modifications: - Used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil - Used 6 Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder (didn't have chocolate squares) - Added 3/4 Cup dark chocolate chips - Used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 Cup white flour - Omitted the walnuts. Perfect!!!!!!! The zucchini makes them very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These cupcakes were awesome. I followed some of the advise from other reviews and only used 3/4 c oil and added 1 tsp cinnamon. They were very moist and delicious!! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Excellent - made just as listed and they turned out perfectly. I had to cook longer as I made bigger muffins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These came out a little heavy, which is probably to be expected. They were very moist and everyone loved them. I made 18 large cupcakes and 12 mini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Tasty - had zucchini from the garden that needed to be used up... Made these for a bridal shower I was hosting. Didn't have much time, so just used store-bought icing for on top. I usually like chocolate things like this warm from the oven, but I find anything baked with zucchini tastes better the day after. I also didn't have enough chocolate squares, so instead I used 3 tbsp of cocoa (plus an additional tbsp of oil) for each square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were all right day one, much better the second day and actually pretty good when frozen and then thawed. I did increase the chocolate, used half oil and half applesauce and used half whole wheat flour. I would make them again but only with intention of freezing. Much healthier treat for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States