Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These are delicious! Very moist and tasty! I made a few changes. I did not beat the eggs and sugar for 10 minutes since I only have a hand mixer and not that much time! It did not seem to make a difference. Then to the dry ingredients, I added 1/2 cup unsweetened coco powder since I did not have baking chocolate bars.I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. I also skipped the nuts. I had enough left-over to make a small loaf of cake, yet now I wish I had used the batter to top off the cupcakes. This recipe probably really does only make 24 cupcakes because I found that they do not rise very much, so you can fill almost to the top of muffin pan. I topped the cupcakes with home-made cream cheese frosting and they were perfect! Brought to a family picnic and they were finished off very quickly. Because of the coco, nobody even realized that there was zucchini in these! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
These were fantastic! So moist and flavorful. I did double the chocolate and added about 1/4 cup of dutch processes cocoa (chocoholic here). I only put half the oil in, also. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made two small changes in this recipe--I cut the sugar back to a cup and I halved the vegetable oil and used one half cup homemade applesauce. Baked at 350, mine were done at 20 minutes. Mine did not turn out like cupcakes, they were more like muffins. Even so, the flavor of these was fantastic......even with the substituted applesauce. VERY moist. The whole family loved these. NOTE: I got 18 "muffins" from one recipe, not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very tasty, but more like a muffin than a cupcake. I doubled the chocolate -- and would add some cocoa powder next time. Added 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup of applesauce. Skipped the nuts, although they would be good if included. I would also grate the zucchini into smaller pieces next time... especially if I try to pass these off as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent! I used applesauce instead of oil and they were still amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I needed a good idea for the first 2 zucchini's to come out of my garden. I followed other reviews and doubled the chocolate, lowering the oil.. and adjusted for altitude. These were perfect!!! I made my own frosting, piped it on and added sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and the cupcakes turned out great. in fact, i think they are the best ones I have ever ate. Will make again. and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svetlana Dascaliuc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vladivostok, Primorsky Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Not enough chocolate! Texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We really loved this recipe. I made these for my 5 year old daughter's birthday party - the parents asked for the recipe, and the kids asked me to give their parents the recipe too! A huge hit. The only modification I made was to use 3/4c applesauce and 1/4c oil in place of the oil recommended, and omitted the nuts. I topped them with a quick homemade vanilla buttercream instead of store bought. Fantastic. The only thing I would "warn" about is that they are not super chocolate-y, so if you are looking for a chocolate fix you probably will not get it here. They do however have a delicious flavor, are very moist, and excellent texture. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good but they were a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States