Chocolate Zucchini Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
The flavor was good. I thought it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe. I added 1/4 c of chopped walnuts and 2/3c of semi sweet chips. Instead of vegetable oil I used chia seeds. Made into cupcakes and cooked for 20minutes. I live at 6200 feet so I reduced baking powder and soda by 10%. I will definitely make this again :) For anyone counting carbs this recipe in roughly 20 carbs a cupcake. Makes 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is the lightest, yet moist and richest tasting chocolate cake--the perfect way to hide zucchini. Everyone at work raved about this one, which I pairedd with "Mom's Buttercream" frosting (also available on Allrecipes. I only changed it by adding slightly more zucchini (2-1/2 to 3 cups), in order to use up what zucchini I had. It may have contributed to the moistness and did not detract in any way from the flavor. Also, with the buttercream frosting (incredibly light and delicious), I added cocoa powder (3 Tbsp) to give it a hint of chocolatey flavor. This is HEAVENLY, and a nice way to get in your vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was just what I was looking for-- a moist cake that wasn't fudgy. I increased the vegetable oil to 1/2 c. and baked this in a Bundt pan. I let it cool and gave it a dusting with powdered sugar and now it's just right for ice cream or whipped cream. Great summer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I added a pinch of cardamon and substituted the vegetable oil for coconut oil as I was out of the former. I like that this recipe takes 2 or more cups of zucchini. This is such a tender and moist cake. Love the photo submitted. The next time I'll add some semi-sweet chocolate chips for added chocolate flavor. This recipe rocks, big time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
While this is good, it's not the best I've ever had. It didn't seem as moist as I was hoping for, it has more of a very thick brownie consistency to it. The amount of chocolate is good and with zucchini in it I can tell myself it's good for me, too! I topped it with Perfect Cream Cheese Icing by Crystal R. and that put it at a 5-star rating! Definitely worth making and I will make it again, maybe just adding a tad more oil to the mixture, or maybe a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was a delicious and very moist cake. I received raves for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
my kids and I just love it. I used whole wheat flour and 2 eggs. I also made cream cheese frosting for the cake. It made it just as good as carrot cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mother and daughter team
Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Good flavor, but dry. I doubled the zucchini and chocolate and added walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States