Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great cake! I did add only one cup of canola oil to the mixture vs the 1 1/2 cups called for in the recipe. The cake came out very moist. Topped with cream cheese icing. Outstanding. I will make this again - great way to use up zucchini from the garden. My 88 year old mother asked to take some home - that's how good it was....thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've made this cake several times and it's fantastic. The zucchini just melts into it. You'll never be able to tell it's in there.. I do leave out the walnuts, and I now omit the cinnamon as well. It's good with the cinnamon, but I found I don't really care for the combination of cinnamon and chocolate. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This recipe is great if you want to use up some of those zuchinnis growing out back. I made this with a few changes (1 cup applesauce/no oil and chocolate chips instead of walnuts), and it was moist and tender. However it lacked in chocolate flavour and the cinnamon was not a pleasant taste. After a second go at this cake, i added some melted chocolate to the batter, some prepared instant espresso, omitted the cinanamon and replaced with pure vanilla extract and glazed the cake with a shiny chocolate glaze when cooled. All the changes made for a completely different cake but now suits my family's tastes. Thanks for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I used a bundt pan, baked it for 55 minutes, used 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, and glazed it with a chocolate glaze recipe from this site (1 can sweetened condensed milk 1 cup chocolate chips stir in sauce pan till melted, then add 1tsp vanilla, pour over cooled cake--it makes a lot so I only used about half of the frosting) family said it was delicious but a little dense, all in all a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Chocolate cake + eating your veggies... win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carleigh Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Incredibly fudgey and moist! I used 4 extra large eggs, 1 cup of oil and 1 cup of applesauce, chocolate chips instead of nuts, and just 2 1/2 cups of zucchini (although the full cups were jam packed, so it may have been 3 cups loosely filled). I baked it in 2 9" round pans for 35 minutes and iced it with chocolate cream cheese frosting from this site. I told the people I fed it to that there was a secret ingredient and asked them to guess what it was. It took them awhile--they only figured it out when one of them found a little piece of peel. Next time I might peel the zucchini so that they won't end up in the cake, because the rest of the zucchini kind of dissolves so you can't tell it's in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
AMAZING!!!! The whole family loves this cake. We look forward to zucchini from the garden every year to make this cake. Thank You so much for a wonderful cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
A very good recipe. I tend to add more zucchini which makes it a more pudding like and it sneaks in more veggies for the kids. Our family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Super easy recipe!! Really good flavor, and super moist! I shared how I've done it in my blog bananapie.com.br.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States