Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I did not use cinnamon but added a teaspoon of vanilla and a tablespoon of "instant espresso" coffee. Excellent use of zucchini that have grown beyond the tender stage. If you peel the zukes before grating, no one will know that their rich chocolate cake contains the "green alien life form" (as one family member has labeled this versatile vegetable.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Loved it! used the glaze recipe that Islander suggested and it was superb didn't take as long to bake as recipe said, but I just watched it and turned out fine! I baked half asd muffins and half as a cake! i have tried it both ways and i find its better without cinnamon but thats personal preference! all around great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious cake. I made it vegan by replacing the 4 eggs with 4 bananas. It turned out wonderfully, very rich and moist. I also left out the walnuts in case of nut allergies at the potluck I was taking it to. I think next time I will cut it into smaller pieces due to the richness (I cut it into 24 pieces this time). Delicious though and very easy to make vegan for my friends who don't eat animal products, a win-win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I mad this in a layer cake and used raspberry filling with cream cheese frosting. Totally delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Fugere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Amazing!!!! Better outcome in a tube pan than bundt, but otherwise a total party favorite!!!!! Topped with Peanut Butterfinger Cream Cheese icing... To Die For!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great way to get rid of a ton of zucchini! Super moist and just the right amount of chocolate. I used 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup regular and then 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and 3/4 cup vegetable oil! I also threw in a handful of dark chocolate chips which helped out! It still turned out great and my husband has no clue it is semi healthy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made it with cream cheese frosting. Whole family raves over this cake! Even the kids who wont touch zucchini with a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Barwald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Surprisingly good cake. Very moist and used up extra zucchini. I took some of the reviews and used less oil (used a little over a cup) and replaced the nuts with chocolate chips for the little people in our house. A hit for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fabulous! Rich,chocolatey moistness that no one will guess has zucchini in it! Can't figure out how that works as my shreads weren't super fine. Crazy! We added mini chocolate chips instead so nuts as suggested by another reviewer, Divine,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
OH WOW! Absolutely "LOVED" this! Even my pickies loved it! Loved that it was not to sweet, because the cream cheese icing brought it home. Did cut back on the oil by 1/2 cup and was really nervous when it came out of the mixer a congealed mass, but stuck with it until the zucchini was folded in. Then had to start fending off the helpful"testers"! Will definitely move this to the front of fav's. And I am starting to look forward to husband going in to the garden again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States