Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Per the suggestions I too cut the oil to 1 cup and added mini chips instead of nuts, only because the grandkids don't like nuts. I used chocolate Cool Whip for frosting. Delicious! I'm making it again today. As much as I like playing with recipes. ....I'm not changing a thing on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni Rundblad Zito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wow. Amazing cake! Dense, moist, and incredibly delicious. My husband said it was the "best cake ever" and this is a man who says that cake is his favourite food-- so it's tall praise! I did end up making a few adjustments… - Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup - Cut back on the oil by 1/4th of a cup - Omitted the cinnamon & walnuts completely - Added about half a cup of shredded coconut. Watch your baking time. The recipe says 50 minutes, but ours was done in about 30 min. I will absolutely be making this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Tasty! I used part ww flour and cut the sugar in half. Would be excellent with fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Winner! Even my 4 yr old grandson requested this for his birthday! What did I change??? Not much. I added a carrot just because I was shy a bit with the zucchini. I did add my new favorite addition to cakes.... two or 3 tbls of instant vanilla pudding mix. It makes every cake just a bit moist and even more delicious. I finished the cake with a cream cheese frosting that I put 1 ounce of melted unsweetened chocolate in the mix. I'm salivating about thinking of having it tonite for the birthday party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this recipe and brought it into work along with a pan of Chocolate Zucchini Cake IV. This was my first time making these recipes, both were made in 9" x 13" pans, baked for 50 minutes and topped with homemade cream cheese icing. This recipe won hands down. People enjoyed how moist it was and the walnuts were a nice touch (from the other recipe which was somewhat dry and did not call for nuts). I personally enjoyed this recipe as well and will use it from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I loved that this made a nice, BIG cake. It fills a 13x9 pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent moist chocolatey zucchini cake. I made it in a bundt pan and it came out perfect! I love a fresh homemade cake that turns out well in high altitude and this one does. Making it again with a yellow zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent -- & I did not adjust for high altitude
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My friend keeps me supplied with fresh zucchini from her garden. Boy was I glad when I saw this recipe. For the most part I followed the recipe with the exception of the 1 1/2 C Oil. I substituted it for 1 Cup Chunky Cinnamon Apple Sauce and 1/2 C fresh Pear puree. It was sooo good. Very moist! I topped it with this sites Ganache II and sub the Bittersweet Chocolate with SemiSweet Chocolate Chips. It was KILLER Chocolate Cake! Thank you, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I did as some did and replace part of the oil with applesauce, but it seemed still a little dry. So I put it in the refrigerator while it was still warm and it moistened it right up. Hubby loved this and he usually does not eat sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Klosterman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States