Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe! We could NOT stop eating it. I read all the reviews before making it and ran with a lot of the other reviews ideas. I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. 1/2 cup white sugar the rest brown. egg whites instead of eggs 1/2 cup oil & the rest applesauce 1 cup mini chocolate chips dusted in cocoa powder double the cocoa powder and used dark instead of regular. added 1 cup low fat sour cream a little bit more than 2 cups zucchini and omitted the cinnamon. I made 1 loaf 6 muffins and 1 square pan the kids kept asking for more "cupcakes" and were just going for them I froze the loaf and take slices out they are the best! The mini chocolate chips are perfect not too chocolatey so good I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. You could see the zucchini, but it didn't bother us. I didn't know what sour milk was, so in case someone else is wondering too, you just mix 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar with enough milk to make the 1/2 cup and let it sit for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My mom has been making this one for years. Same recipe with the addition of 1/2 tsp ground cloves, and grated zucchini instead of diced. I stopped by her house the other day and she was baking 7 (yes, 7!) of these to put in the freezer. They freeze great. You can dress it up a little by sprinkling on some powdered sugar after thawing. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniepie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe-very moist. It only took about 30 minutes for the cake to bake to completion, so I think 45 minutes is a little too long (it could have been my oven). I also made a powdered sugar glaze with a little cinnamon in it to drizzle on top. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
My mom used to make a wonderful chocolate zucchini cake when I was a kid. Unfortunately, she lost the recipe. I believe I just found it here! Absolutely delicious!! Brings back memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Delicious, a nice, moist, chocolatey cake. I grate my zucchini instead of chopping it and I also put half the choclate chips into the batter because I like the extra texture in the cake. If you have picky eaters, noone needs to know there's zucchini in this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Great recipe my grandmother used to make this and it is a great way to used up all of that extra zucchuni. I doubled the cocoa next time I think I will add even more to make it extra chocolatey. I also cook it in a bundt pan which makes it look really nice. Silicone bakewear. It makes it almost crunchy on the edge and fudgy on the inside. I didn't give it a five because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yaak, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Oh, this cake was wonderful! Moist, and not too sweet. A great recipe! I fixed for a co-workers birthday celebration, and everybody loved it. Next time I might do a light coating of cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Oh my goodness, this is heavenly. I have an abundance of zucchini in my garden, so am always searching for good zucchini recipes. This one is outstanding along with a nice buttercream frosting. Went out on a limb and reduced the sugar in this cake by 1/2 cup, and I completely replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce -- all with fantastic results. I used sour cream in lieu of sour milk. Added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter, and sprinkled about 3/4 cup on top. (Definitely squeeze the water out of your zucchini, as other reviewers have said.) Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very good with a few changes. First off, I knew 1/4 cup cocoa would not be chocolatey enough, so I upped it to 1/2 cup (I would use a couple of tablespoons more next time.) I added the chocolate chips to the flour mixture, shredded the zucchini, used a little less sugar, used unsweetened applesauce for the oil, and baked it for about 45 minutes in a bundt pan. Very moist! I didn't care for the cinnamon in here, so will leave it out next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States