Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe. Makes great cupcakes if you don't bake them as long. I used only a cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet for us. I grated the Zucchini and used half whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe! We could NOT stop eating it. I read all the reviews before making it and ran with a lot of the other reviews ideas. I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. 1/2 cup white sugar the rest brown. egg whites instead of eggs 1/2 cup oil & the rest applesauce 1 cup mini chocolate chips dusted in cocoa powder double the cocoa powder and used dark instead of regular. added 1 cup low fat sour cream a little bit more than 2 cups zucchini and omitted the cinnamon. I made 1 loaf 6 muffins and 1 square pan the kids kept asking for more "cupcakes" and were just going for them I froze the loaf and take slices out they are the best! The mini chocolate chips are perfect not too chocolatey so good I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This is just like what my mom used to make. Moist and chocolate-ty. I add the chocolate chips into my batter (stir them in with the zucchini). YUMMY!!! Eat fast (or freeze) because it will spoil rather fast due to the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My mom has been making this one for years. Same recipe with the addition of 1/2 tsp ground cloves, and grated zucchini instead of diced. I stopped by her house the other day and she was baking 7 (yes, 7!) of these to put in the freezer. They freeze great. You can dress it up a little by sprinkling on some powdered sugar after thawing. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniepie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Great recipe my grandmother used to make this and it is a great way to used up all of that extra zucchuni. I doubled the cocoa next time I think I will add even more to make it extra chocolatey. I also cook it in a bundt pan which makes it look really nice. Silicone bakewear. It makes it almost crunchy on the edge and fudgy on the inside. I didn't give it a five because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yaak, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very moist but not too chocolatey. Diced the zucchini and added more chocolate chips on the top instead of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Oh, this cake was wonderful! Moist, and not too sweet. A great recipe! I fixed for a co-workers birthday celebration, and everybody loved it. Next time I might do a light coating of cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I took this cake to a potluck it was gone instantly, moist and delicious...nobody knew it had zucchini in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Delicious, a nice, moist, chocolatey cake. I grate my zucchini instead of chopping it and I also put half the choclate chips into the batter because I like the extra texture in the cake. If you have picky eaters, noone needs to know there's zucchini in this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States