Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe was made and baked into three smaller contrainers, as they were going to different people. The cake was devoured by everyone that received a pan of it. They could not believe that something with zucchini could taste so good, and one party that received some, that won't touch vegetables, didn't know it contained zucchini :) I just made it it yesterday...all is gone, so I'll bake another batch tomorrow for them all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! I bake for a diabetic family member, so I adapted it to make it low-carb. It turned out great, even with the changes. I used Splenda granular in place of sugar, switched out 1 1/4 cup flour with 1 1/4 cup almond meal (or flaxseed meal or a blend of the two), increased baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp., and decreased choc. chips to 1/2 cup, but added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, both mixed into the batter. I used a 9x9 in. pan, as the amount of batter is always less with Splenda, and baked for 25-30 min. The original recipe is delicious, and still quite tasty with the low-carb revisions. Plus, my family loves it. Thanks Sandi, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Excellent version of a recipe I'd tried in the past. I took this to a picnic in slices from a bundt pan and it was gone within minutes!!! Extremely moist and the zucchini was well hidden from the watchful eye of my kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe is really good. My husband does not eat zucchini at all and I told him it was a "Chocolate Cake". He finished it is 2 days!!!! I shredded the zucchini, mixed the chocolate chips in and it did take 60 minutes to cook. I will definately be making this cake again - another way to get veggies into my husband!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I added chopped walnuts and doubled the cocoa. Perfect! Exept it took 60 minutes before the toothpick came out clean, but I think it's because I used one of those metal insulated pans. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolestchicevr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
5 of my 6 kids loved this and it only lasted 2 days. We're making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is the first cake I've made "from scratch" in years... A neighbor gave me some zuchini, as he had last year. I was unsure what to do with it, since I've got picky eaters. Last year, I'd made zuchini bread, which was awesome, but only DH and I ate it. Decided to try this recipe, and it was a huge hit! I sort of shredded the zuchini in my Magic Bullet, so nobody would see it. Also, I used baker's chocolate instead of chocolate chips, stirring them in rather than sprinkling on top. Lastly, I mixed up a chocolate powdered sugar glaze to drizzle on top. We'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I can't believe it--I ahve been using this recipe for years but couldn't find it and HERE IT IS!! THE BEST chocolate cake EVER-mine is only slighlty different --I also add 1/4 tsp cloves and zest of half an orange (I usually make two cakes at a time). You don't need to look further for any chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Bf told me his grandmother used to make a chocolate zucchini cake. I showed him the recipe search results and he picked this one. I finally made it today and he LOVES it. He's already eaten 3 huge pieces. I was lazy and chopped the zucchini in the food processor. I'm a bit weird about cakes: I don't like sheet cakes unless they are decorated, so I opted for using a bundt pan. Either it's my oven, the fact that I used a bundt pan, or there was too much zucchini (any of those are possible!), but I had to bake an extra fifteen minutes. Bc I used a bundt pan, I layered the chocolate chips instead of putting them all on top. Worked out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My kids LOVE this cake, especially for their birthdays! I found a low-fat version where you swap out the butter for low-fat mayo and use canola oil instead of vegatable. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup semisweet chips & 2 tbls. finley chopped pecans, then bake. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States