Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was just ok for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Really nice. Used the applesauce, egg whites, brown sugar method. Could use some frosting, so i'm going out to get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used 3 cups grated zucchini, regular milk, and mixed 1 1/2 c chocolate chips into the mix and frosted these with chocolate frosting, for a triple chocolate delight. Sadly, I was out of pecans. This is a very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Oh my goodness, this is heavenly. I have an abundance of zucchini in my garden, so am always searching for good zucchini recipes. This one is outstanding along with a nice buttercream frosting. Went out on a limb and reduced the sugar in this cake by 1/2 cup, and I completely replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce -- all with fantastic results. I used sour cream in lieu of sour milk. Added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter, and sprinkled about 3/4 cup on top. (Definitely squeeze the water out of your zucchini, as other reviewers have said.) Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this for a BBQ and everyone who tried it liked it and they were surprised that there was zucchini in it. I shredded the zucchini as others had suggested and I used mini-chocolate chips in the batter instead of putting them on top. To reduce the fat content and up the nutritional value of this cake even more, I substituted applesauce for both the vegetable oil and the butter but I found the texture a bit chewy (as opposed to cake-like) so I am not sure that I would do that part again. I think that next time I will substitute the applesauce just for the oil to see what happens. I used buttermilk in place of the sour milk. I will likely double the cocoa next time as well so that it tastes more chocolate-y. I baked it in a glass pan for 40 minutes and it was baked completely in that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used to make a chocolate zucchini cake that was pretty good, but nothing compared to this delicious, chocolaty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This cake was very simple to make. I used buttermilk and shredded the zucchini. It was chocolatey, moist, and had a crunchy top with a hint of cinnamon. I liked it without frosting...it would go great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good! I shredded the zucchini with my food processor, so there was no 'chunks' of zucchini. I forgot that I ran out of vanilla, so I actually used maple syrup instead - the real stuff. The kids wanted the chips stirred in and not on top, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Great way to use up some zucchini and satisfy my sweet tooth at the same time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wonderful! Moist and delicious but not too sweet. I used milk chocolate chips on the top and sprinkled chopped pecans on top as well. The chips melt into the cake. Can sprinkle with powdered sugar if you like before serving. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
WONDERFUL CAKE! I made with 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3 ounces of bitter sweet chocolate shaved and folded into the batter. I also made a butter cream vanilla icing, which was perfect. Moist and delicious. The 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon is perfect. Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States