Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Oh my goodness, this is heavenly. I have an abundance of zucchini in my garden, so am always searching for good zucchini recipes. This one is outstanding along with a nice buttercream frosting. Went out on a limb and reduced the sugar in this cake by 1/2 cup, and I completely replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce -- all with fantastic results. I used sour cream in lieu of sour milk. Added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter, and sprinkled about 3/4 cup on top. (Definitely squeeze the water out of your zucchini, as other reviewers have said.) Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this for a BBQ and everyone who tried it liked it and they were surprised that there was zucchini in it. I shredded the zucchini as others had suggested and I used mini-chocolate chips in the batter instead of putting them on top. To reduce the fat content and up the nutritional value of this cake even more, I substituted applesauce for both the vegetable oil and the butter but I found the texture a bit chewy (as opposed to cake-like) so I am not sure that I would do that part again. I think that next time I will substitute the applesauce just for the oil to see what happens. I used buttermilk in place of the sour milk. I will likely double the cocoa next time as well so that it tastes more chocolate-y. I baked it in a glass pan for 40 minutes and it was baked completely in that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used to make a chocolate zucchini cake that was pretty good, but nothing compared to this delicious, chocolaty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This cake was very simple to make. I used buttermilk and shredded the zucchini. It was chocolatey, moist, and had a crunchy top with a hint of cinnamon. I liked it without frosting...it would go great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good! I shredded the zucchini with my food processor, so there was no 'chunks' of zucchini. I forgot that I ran out of vanilla, so I actually used maple syrup instead - the real stuff. The kids wanted the chips stirred in and not on top, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Great way to use up some zucchini and satisfy my sweet tooth at the same time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wonderful! Moist and delicious but not too sweet. I used milk chocolate chips on the top and sprinkled chopped pecans on top as well. The chips melt into the cake. Can sprinkle with powdered sugar if you like before serving. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
WONDERFUL CAKE! I made with 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3 ounces of bitter sweet chocolate shaved and folded into the batter. I also made a butter cream vanilla icing, which was perfect. Moist and delicious. The 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon is perfect. Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe was made and baked into three smaller contrainers, as they were going to different people. The cake was devoured by everyone that received a pan of it. They could not believe that something with zucchini could taste so good, and one party that received some, that won't touch vegetables, didn't know it contained zucchini :) I just made it it yesterday...all is gone, so I'll bake another batch tomorrow for them all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! I bake for a diabetic family member, so I adapted it to make it low-carb. It turned out great, even with the changes. I used Splenda granular in place of sugar, switched out 1 1/4 cup flour with 1 1/4 cup almond meal (or flaxseed meal or a blend of the two), increased baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp., and decreased choc. chips to 1/2 cup, but added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, both mixed into the batter. I used a 9x9 in. pan, as the amount of batter is always less with Splenda, and baked for 25-30 min. The original recipe is delicious, and still quite tasty with the low-carb revisions. Plus, my family loves it. Thanks Sandi, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Excellent version of a recipe I'd tried in the past. I took this to a picnic in slices from a bundt pan and it was gone within minutes!!! Extremely moist and the zucchini was well hidden from the watchful eye of my kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States