Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars because I think it's a good recipe, but it wasn't the best cake in the world. However, to be fair, I used one large zucchini and one light green Mexican squash that resembles zucchini. In cooking, these are interchangeable in my book, but this might not be the case for baking. I was able to taste zucchini/squash throughout the cake and it was kind of weird. The rest of the cake was delicious, but the unmistakeable taste of vegetables wasn't the best thing. I will try this one more time using zucchini only because the reviews are mostly positive. For now, I'm attributing the strange taste to using the other squash, therefore I'm giving this 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very good with a few changes. First off, I knew 1/4 cup cocoa would not be chocolatey enough, so I upped it to 1/2 cup (I would use a couple of tablespoons more next time.) I added the chocolate chips to the flour mixture, shredded the zucchini, used a little less sugar, used unsweetened applesauce for the oil, and baked it for about 45 minutes in a bundt pan. Very moist! I didn't care for the cinnamon in here, so will leave it out next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I mixed the chocolate chips in the batter instead of sprinkling on top and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Made this exactly as written. It is very moist and delicious! My only problem was I didn't quite have a full cup of chocolate chips for the top - but it was great with just that as a topping instead of frosting. You won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
perfect recipe! i subbed applesauce for the oil, eliminated 1/4 sugar and used half whole wheat flour and this cake was moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin E White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I would prefer more chocolate flavor. It doesn't taste very good in the areas without the chocolate chips. Add more chips and it's pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Yum!! Easy and Delicious!! I Mixed Choclate Chips in Batter before baking instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was just ok for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Really nice. Used the applesauce, egg whites, brown sugar method. Could use some frosting, so i'm going out to get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used 3 cups grated zucchini, regular milk, and mixed 1 1/2 c chocolate chips into the mix and frosted these with chocolate frosting, for a triple chocolate delight. Sadly, I was out of pecans. This is a very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States