Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated. Everyone loved the cake. I'll make this in the future, with possibly a couple of amendments: I'll shred the zucchini, instead of finely chopping it. I think that it's a lot easier to shred it, and it would then be less noticeable, too. I'm kind of up in the air on nuts and frosting - it could be good with a cream cheese frosting, but it was fine without, too. The cake is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
great recipe, it hit home here... i add a few really ripe bananas too make a total of 2 cups of combination zucchini and bananas, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I always make a recipe for the first time as written. And this cake gets 5 stars as written!! It was delicious. However, I'm always looking for ways to make a dessert on the "healthier" side so I added a few changes. First I used 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce (I tried the 1/2 & 1/2 and it made the cake to dry). Then I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The third change I made was to use 1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. These changes did not change the texture or the flavor of the cake (a tiny bit less sweet, which we preferred). I then took the suggestion of a few other reviewers and drizzled with a cocoa cinnamon glaze. I've made 4 this way in the last 2 weeks both family and coworkers gobbled them up with nary a crumb left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Just as yummy as everyone described. Great way to sneak in a veggie and use up those huge end of the season zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Packergirl68
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Very moist and tons of flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this recipe hoping to give to a friend who had surgery. I split the batter into 2 8x8 dishes and baked it. It had no flavor, bland, so I tried adding frosting but still blahh. I mean I could eat it but really disapointed, not going to give it to my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made this today and everyone loved it. Moist and just the right texture and flavor will defiantly make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Have made this recipe before and my family loves it ... so moist and tasty! Didn't have buttermilk, but making the sour milk was so easy, it wasn't a problem! I, too, grated the zucchini, rather than chopping it .... just an over all great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this cake tonight and found it to be nothing special. It really lacked flavor. If I closed my eyes I doubt I would have known it was chocolate. The chocolate chips helped with the flavor, but they didn't even bring the flavor up enough. Sorry - I just thought it was blah and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States