Chocolate Zucchini Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I dismissed previous reviewers opinions of lack of flavor etc and went ahead and made this cake. They were right. If not for the chocolate chips, this cake would not be recognizable as chocolate. Odd choice of cinnamon made it taste weird. It was moist, though. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
LOVE this. Made it just like the recipe directed but used 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very moist. Followed recipe except for add a little more bitter chocolate to the batter and I did add the chocolate chips into the batter. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
modified this to be gluten free and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajhus
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I've made this a few times now and it always turns out wonderful! Very moist and the zucchini is not noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated. Everyone loved the cake. I'll make this in the future, with possibly a couple of amendments: I'll shred the zucchini, instead of finely chopping it. I think that it's a lot easier to shred it, and it would then be less noticeable, too. I'm kind of up in the air on nuts and frosting - it could be good with a cream cheese frosting, but it was fine without, too. The cake is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
great recipe, it hit home here... i add a few really ripe bananas too make a total of 2 cups of combination zucchini and bananas, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I always make a recipe for the first time as written. And this cake gets 5 stars as written!! It was delicious. However, I'm always looking for ways to make a dessert on the "healthier" side so I added a few changes. First I used 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce (I tried the 1/2 & 1/2 and it made the cake to dry). Then I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The third change I made was to use 1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. These changes did not change the texture or the flavor of the cake (a tiny bit less sweet, which we preferred). I then took the suggestion of a few other reviewers and drizzled with a cocoa cinnamon glaze. I've made 4 this way in the last 2 weeks both family and coworkers gobbled them up with nary a crumb left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Just as yummy as everyone described. Great way to sneak in a veggie and use up those huge end of the season zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States