Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CABERNET99
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I substituted SOUR CREAM for the SOUR MILK (same amount) ... came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Great recipe!! Skipped out on the nuts, used buttermilk instead of the sour milk. ALso baked in 2 9x5 loaf pans. Tip: Grease pan(s) with butter/ shortening and then dust with cinnimon and sugar. Gives the crust a nice sweet flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
great recipe. I mixed the chocolate chips and nuts into the batter with the zucchini also i am not a big fan of cloves so i only used about 1/4 tsp and I baked it in a bunt pan at 350 for 45 min. this is a very moist cake and the flavor is excellent not to sweet just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I cannot stop eating this. I have it straight from the freezer at least once a day. Did not have nuts, so I used all chocolate chips. Used applesauce instead of oil and can't imagine it being more moist than it is. I did add a rum glaze - 1 TBSP rum, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1-2 TBSP milk to desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Mmmm, this is great! I could hardly wait for it to finish baking before I had a piece. Love the chocolate chips and walnuts on the top. The only change I made was to substitute apple sauce for half of the butter and use a little less sugar. Love it! Great flavor and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
tastes great! used buttermilk instead of sour milk and nutmeg instead of cloves (i didnt have any cloves) i thought it was a fine cake to serve my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
You think you'll see it, taste it, smell it, feel it -- BUT YOU WON'T!! The zucchini disappears - and a warm, moist, delicious chocolate cake is left! Amazing! I didn't have any cloves - loved it anyway! (used a LOT more chips and substituted pecans for walnuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is one of the BEST chocolate cakes that I've tasted! It's moist, chocolately and just plain YUMMY! Everybody, even the KIDS, love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
this cake is delicious! My family and friends loved it, as did I. This is going to be one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
this cake turned out really good although i made some changes to make it a bit healthier....didnt add any butter but added 3/4 cup applesauce in place of butter and only 1/4 cup oil. only added 1/2 cup sugar, also added 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup white, didnt add any cloves, added 2/3 cup of cocoa powder instead of 4 tablespoons...this sweet enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States