Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I LOVED this recipe! I haven't had chocolate zucchini cake since I was little and now I've realized I like it even better than brownies: not too rich and perfect with vanilla ice cream. I didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I really loved this cake!! The only problem I had was the amount of sugar, butter and oil! I think you could probably get away with 1 1/4 cup of sugar and a 1/4 cup each of the butter and oil cause the zucchini makes it really moist on it's own. To be fair though, it is CAKE and not "healthy bread"!! All joking aside, it's super duper moist and I will for sure be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is a very moist cake!! I love heavier and moist cakes and this fits the bill. The only change I made was adding 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkling with 1/2 cup chips on top along with 1/2 cup pecans. My boys really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Very moist and delicious! Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
We made this recipe as written, with the exception of tripling the chocolate chips and doubling the nuts. It not only came out moist and delicious, it has a wonderful flavor that isn't sicky sweet like a lot of cakes out there. Also - not sure if the last user forgot to add the sugar or what happened, but this cake does have some sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I would really give this 3 1/2 stars. I found myself eating the top layer because of the sweetness of the choco chips. The cake was perfectly moist, dense, and the recipe was easy. However, the cake had a strange, not-sweet flavor that I didn't really enjoy. If I make this again, I think I'd add some sugar and then mix the choc chips into the batter at the end, instead of putting them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was an excellent cake! I used buttermilk instead of sour milk and decreased the cloves to 1/4 teaspoon. It serves well and everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I loved it! It was light, fluffy and moist! So yummy! I substituted buttermilk for sour milk and used a teaspoon of a Cinnamon Plus blend instead of 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cloves. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
You think you'll see it, taste it, smell it, feel it -- BUT YOU WON'T!! The zucchini disappears - and a warm, moist, delicious chocolate cake is left! Amazing! I didn't have any cloves - loved it anyway! (used a LOT more chips and substituted pecans for walnuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
great recipe. I mixed the chocolate chips and nuts into the batter with the zucchini also i am not a big fan of cloves so i only used about 1/4 tsp and I baked it in a bunt pan at 350 for 45 min. this is a very moist cake and the flavor is excellent not to sweet just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States