Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Loved it and so did everyone else! Didn't have any chocolate chips, so I chopped up some chocolate squares. Also, baked it in two 8-inch cake tins. Ate one, froze the other. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa in Bexhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This cake was OK, but the spices were pretty strong. I guess I'm more of a chocolate purist than I thought. If you are in the mood for a spice cake, this one might do you well, but if you're looking for a good chocolate cake recipe, this is not your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I decided to make this cake because I had some milk go sour on me. So glad I used it instead of tossing it! Not overly rich or too chocolately, the spices give the cake a very nice flavour. The zucchini makes this cake super moist. This cake lasted a week and was just as moist on the 7th day as the 1st. I left out the nuts and mixed the chocolate chips in the batter. My sister in law deemed them the best part. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Moist and delicious. Four stars only because I used an extra tablespoon of cocoa (maybe will try even more next time), left out the cinnamon & cloves, and used applesauce instead of the oil. When he saw me mixing this up, my husband said "I'm not eating that." He tried it, loved it, and took some to work (where it was much enjoyed!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I cannot stop eating this. I have it straight from the freezer at least once a day. Did not have nuts, so I used all chocolate chips. Used applesauce instead of oil and can't imagine it being more moist than it is. I did add a rum glaze - 1 TBSP rum, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1-2 TBSP milk to desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Very good, moist cake. Next time I will double the spices for a spicier cake. We put the nuts on top with a toy dinosaur for our 4y/o's birthday cake. A very big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is a very tasty recipe. Now I can get my family to eat a vegetable without any complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Yummy cake. Didn't really care for the cloves very much, and I even cut the cloves in half. I also added a whole lot more chocolate chips, in the cake and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faust4ever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is one of the BEST chocolate cakes that I've tasted! It's moist, chocolately and just plain YUMMY! Everybody, even the KIDS, love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
What a great recipe when there's an overabundance of zucchini in the garden! Like one other reviewer, I sprinkled chocolate chips and chopped walnuts on top of the cake before baking. My family loved the cake once they got past the idea of having zucchini for dessert --- the cake freezes well, so though it makes a large cake you can cut it into smaller servings and enjoy later. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Georgia, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States