Chocolate Zucchini Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Delicious. I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Finished the first night everyone loved. The kids all asked for more. Didn't need icing at all. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I've tried other recipes for chocolate zucchini cake and this is the best one I've found! So yummy when still a little warm and served with a big glass of cold milk! I followed the recipe just as written, except I didn't measure out the walnuts and the chocolate chips. I broke up the walnuts by hand instead of grinding because I like chunks of walnuts, and I just covered the top with what I thought looked good of both....and it was perfect!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very moist. Not too sweet just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Yum. We made it for my mom's b-day. She declared it her new favorite cake. We substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil, sour cream instead of sour milk, and chopped walnuts instead of ground walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
very tasty and moist, however it has a LOT of sugar. I know you can often substitute fruit puree for eggs/oil and would love to know if using the zucchini to replace these would work. If I'm going to put zucchini in a cake, I would love if it could be more healthy (as well as tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I substituted applesauce for oil. Nutmeg for cloves. Sour cream for sour milk. Put 1/2 cup of choc chips in the batter and sprinkled 1/2 cup on top. No walnuts. Frosted w/Duncan Hines Milk Chocolate frosting. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durand, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is REALLY good. So moist and not a trace of zucchini in it when you eat it. You're sure fool the kids, or anyone who doesn't like their veggies, when you serve this cake. I would add extra chips, though. Needs more chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I was very pleased with this cake! The flavor was rich with the hit of cloves, and it was very moist, needing no embellishment besides the chocolate chips scattered over the top. I omitted the nuts, used buttermilk, used all egg whites for this, also a full tsp. cinnamon and baked it for about 36 minutes in my convection oven. It can be dressed up by sprinkling a little 10x sugar [confectioners' sugar] on top after it cools. I used coconut oil for the vegetable oil...with awesome results. Note that this cake does not rise much - it is more of a "snack-cake" height. Very good and recommended for families with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Wonderful, so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States